Can 2 Airport Extreme work together?

Discussion in 'Mac Accessories' started by getyup, Aug 8, 2011.

  1. getyup macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2011
    #1
    I have seen many people writing about using an Express to extend an Extreme, but can 1 Extreme extend another Extreme?

    Basically I have a cable modem and Extreme downstairs, and want to increase performance upstairs, so thinking of getting a second Extreme. I assume it'll see the first one and boost the signal as a repeater?

    Also, will the 4 ethernet physical ports on the back of the second model become active on the network on the second unit?
     
  2. frunkis54 macrumors 65816

    frunkis54

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2009
    #2
    Yes in the setting there is one called extend your wireless network.

    yes they do
     
  3. getyup thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2011
    #3
    Perfect, thanks for the fast reply. Much appreciation!
     
  4. getyup thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2011
    #5
    Thanks, I'd seen this article, but want to make sure it's possible to connect them to each other using wifi, not ethernet. Basically I have a two story house and the network upstairs is a bit sketchy, so I'd like to have one downstairs connected to the cable modem, then one right above it upstairs, where it can pick up and re-broadcast the downstairs via wifi, not ethernet. This possible, yes?
     
  5. b-rad g macrumors 6502a

    b-rad g

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2010
    #6
    I do beleive it's possible, but have heard from many on here that there is a possibility that doing so will cut your speed down. Hopefully someone with firsthand experience will chime in.
     
  6. Prynce macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2008
    #7
    What about a single band 2008 time capsule and a 2011 dual band airport extreme, What band should I use on the single band router that won't interfere with the dual band? I see only 3 options for N, 5 ghz and 2.4 ghz or an option for B,G, and N. I have one device capable of only 2.4 ghz N only, and 2 devices capable of G (Wii and iPhone 3gs) only one of them I could plug directly into the time capsule on the 3rd floor. Optimally I would like to use the N 5 ghz on the time capsule on the 3rd floor and place the new dual band in the basement. I want to take advantage


    Something I posted elsewhere may fill in the details....

    "I have a older 2008 time capsule Airport, and am planning on getting one of the new Airport Dual Extreme, I want to place the new I have a basement where the main computer and networking equipment will be with a 1250 square foot main floor house and 3rd floor where the 4 bedrooms are. I can place the internet modem in the basement or the main floor (if I place it on the main floor I wont have a direct internet connection to my main system in the basement.) I am looking for optimum setup for 50 mbps of actual throughput wireless connection for my main system or a wired setup in the basement. JUst trying to figure out the best way to place the 2 devices. I thought about placing the single band time capsule on the top floor and the new dual band in the basement. Any thoughts or comments?"

    P.S. I have a 50 Mbs/3Mbps wired internet connection from my ISP, would like to get the most out of it on a wireless.
     

Share This Page