Can 3G be turned off?

Discussion in 'iOS 5 and earlier' started by horrgakx, Oct 18, 2011.

  1. horrgakx, Oct 18, 2011
    Last edited: Oct 18, 2011

    horrgakx macrumors member

    horrgakx

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2007
    Location:
    UK, North West
    #1
    Is it possible to turn 3G off (and have GPRS)?

    The only option on my 4S under Settings > Network is to turn the cellular data off. On my previous 3Gs it was possible to turn off 3G and force it to revert to GPRS.

    (Why do I want to do this? The 3G data service on both O2 and Orange where I work is pi$$ poor because the single transmitter is serving thousands of people. I want to try turning off the 3G service and reverting to GPRS to see if I can trickle data through).
     
  2. vmachiel macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2011
    Location:
    Holland
    #2
    Depends on the carrier, i think. Sprint and Verizon don't allow it for example
     
  3. guineapig macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2011
    Location:
    Italy
    #3
    This is a major WTF... :mad:
    I still have to test this on the field as I expect my 4S to be delivered tomorrow.
    But why expressing battery life in "2G talk time" if you can't manually select to be on 2G. In places where 3G is awful, battery life will be extremely drained.
    I don't know if they removed this option because the new antenna system automatically switches on the best connection or if it is a bug.
    I submitted a comment here on Apple feedback page, requesting back this feature.
    My hope is if many people do the same we could get it back for the sake of battery life and usability.
     
  4. MooneyFlyer macrumors 65816

    MooneyFlyer

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2007
    Location:
    Boston
    #4
    This does suck. There are definitely times where I can get an edge connection that works while 3G is connected and not working (sporting event usually). As for putting the talk time in 2G - the phone can still connect on its own when no 3G is available but it really is just marketing BS.
     
  5. guineapig macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2011
    Location:
    Italy
    #5
    Support and usage of 2G networks are obviously still real, but there's no way to electively use them all the time.
     
  6. malias4 macrumors 6502a

    malias4

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2011
    Location:
    Greece and Holland
    #6
    i think you have to wait for cydia to give solution :D
     
  7. guineapig macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2011
    Location:
    Italy
    #7
    I sure hope we can solve it that way :)
    After 3G unrestrictor we'd need 3G restrictor :D
     
  8. FourCandles, Oct 18, 2011
    Last edited: Oct 18, 2011

    FourCandles macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2009
    Location:
    England
    #8
    AFAIK this is a carrier-set option (i.e. the carrier can choose to remove the option).

    For example, Three UK remove the option because they are a 3G-only network, and only offer GSM connectivity by allowing roaming on to the Orange network, for which they pay Orange roaming charges (the phone will still claim to be on the Three UK network). Thus, they want you to be on the Three UK 3G network wherever possible, and do not want to you to force the phone to connect to the Orange 2G network.

    For the same reason, Three UK sim cards won't work in a 2G-only phone.

    (This isn't a new "feature" in iOS 5 - the opportunity for the carrier to remove the option was there before; but it would seem that the US carriers mentioned have only now chosen to do so).
     
  9. guineapig macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2011
    Location:
    Italy
    #9
    This is the same for 3 here in Italy (roaming is with TIM). But I've seen some posts from other people from France and Germany who say they don't have the switch, regardless of the carrier. At first I thought (hoped) it was a carrier specific setting. Now I'm not that confident...
     
  10. Dangerous Theory macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2011
    Location:
    UK
    #10
    I thought Three's deal with Orange ended ages ago after the T-Mobile UK + Orange merger -> Everything Everywhere. Regardless, 3G only is Three specific because as you mentioned, it's a purely 3G network. Why he can't switch it off on O2 or Orange (you're using 2 networks?), I don't know.
     
  11. MaxBurn macrumors 65816

    MaxBurn

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2010
    #11
    I could have sworn the other day I didn't have it but I have it now. AT&T go phone, iOS 5, iphone 4. Not jailbroken.

    [​IMG]
     
  12. guineapig macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2011
    Location:
    Italy
    #12
    Exactly. ;)
     
  13. MaxBurn macrumors 65816

    MaxBurn

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2010
    #13
    Only the new ones that don't have that? Odd.
     
  14. guineapig macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2011
    Location:
    Italy
    #14
    Many users, me included, are guessing it's because of the new antenna switching thing on the 4S. And that's why I'm not optimistic about having that option back. :(
     
  15. FourCandles macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2009
    Location:
    England
    #15
    No, the roaming agreement is still in operation. But Three are selectively switching off roaming in areas where they believe that their 3G signal is sufficiently strong not to need the 2G fallback.

    There is a separate RAN share agreement between Three and T-Mobile to use each other's antennae (but not the backhaul infrastructure), but that is obviously 3G only. In theory, the EE deal means that Three will be able to use Orange 3G masts too, but this is dependent on T-Mobile and Orange merging their 3G infrastructure, which hasn't happend yet. I understand that it has been blocked by an injunction from Arqiva, to do with existing contracts to maintain the masts and equipment which would be compromised by the merger. ;)
     
  16. nwlondonlad macrumors 6502a

    nwlondonlad

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2007
    Location:
    UK London
  17. Rubo Draco macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2011
    #17
    what happens if you go to
    Settings / Locations Services / System Services
    and turn Cell Network Search Off and then "restart" your device?
    will it still auto-connect to 3G?
     
  18. PatrickOMFG macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2011
    #18
    I don't think the phone being an iPhone 4 or 4S matters. My iPhone 4 running iOS 5, non jailbroken on Bell doesn't have the enable/disable 3G option.

    [​IMG]
     
  19. Dangerous Theory macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2011
    Location:
    UK
    #19
    I didn't know T-Mobile had any relationship with Three, but I was under the assumption that for the EE merger to be allowed to go ahead, orange had to quit it's dealings with Three (anticompetitive reasons to do share of UK network or something). Must say, I haven't read much into it all though so you're probably right.
     
  20. ender21 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2010
    Location:
    Southern Cal
    #20
    I set up my mom's 3GS with iOS 5 and it still has the Enable 3G option. Doesn't mean the 4 does, of course, but imagine it likely does.
     
  21. guineapig macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2011
    Location:
    Italy
    #21
    Bell is probably a 3G only carrier. That would explain why you don't have this choice even an the iPhone 4.
    Anyway, I can confirm that the 3G switch is missing in Italy too, I'm on TIM btw.
    As I said, let's give Apple some feedback about this and hope they restore it.
     
  22. Thetonyk123 macrumors 68000

    Thetonyk123

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2011
    Location:
    Earth
    #22
    Its the IPHONE 4S that has this not the 4.
     
  23. guineapig macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2011
    Location:
    Italy
    #23
    The 3G switch is still gone on 5.0.1 beta2 :(
    I guess we'll have to wait for a cydia tweak, if there's ever gonna be one.
     
  24. The Game 161 macrumors G5

    The Game 161

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2010
    Location:
    UK
    #24
    Actually thats not true

    my work where there is no 3G coverage battery life is generally fine..no different than if you could switch off 3G
     
  25. viperGTS macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2010
    #25
    3G can not be turned off on the 4S. PERIOD. it's not a carrier thing. i think it has to do with the dual band.
     

Share This Page