can a cpu be upgraded? or over clocked?

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by bereda, Mar 11, 2009.

1. bereda macrumors member

i have an intel core duo but i have a new intel i7 on the way for my desktop which brought the idea to mind? right now im running windows xp and im wondering if its possible to overclock the cpu also... im a newb when it comes to over clocking and macs in general but i can build desktops like theres no tomorrow so i know the componants but i just dont know what to use for macs are all of the componants the same in a mac and a pc? and its just the os thats different...

2. Tallest Skil macrumors P6

Tallest Skil

3. Sneakz macrumors 65816

Sneakz

CPU upgraded? Technically? Yes. Practically? No. They can be overclocked by using nTune in Windows XP, Vista or 7.

4. bereda thread starter macrumors member

whats the safest OC'd speed for a duo

5. diamond.g macrumors 603

diamond.g

In a notebook? Not much past what it is at stock, due to potential cooling issues. But in a desktop it wouldn't surprise me if the CPUs Apple uses could hit 3.5+ Ghz on air. It would be interesting to see if that can be done without voltmodding though.

6. Tallest Skil macrumors P6

Tallest Skil

Uh... they use the exact same CPUs in their desktops as they do the MacBook family.

7. diamond.g macrumors 603

diamond.g

Sorry, meant a tower unit. Like the Mac Pro. The cooling in the iMac probably can't handle the existing chips running near 4Ghz on air (especially if you have to volt mod).

8. Sneakz macrumors 65816

Sneakz

I didn't realize that you weren't using a unibody. In that case, I don't think you can overlcok the CPU. I know it's possible with those that have 9400M graphics.

9. Tallest Skil macrumors P6

Tallest Skil

Hmm... We'll have to see about that. The Nehalem family can be overclocked fairly easily, but whether or not Gainestown is made to do so is another question.

10. Sneakz macrumors 65816

Sneakz