Can a developer revert back to 3.0 from 3.1 beta 2

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by j-a-x, Jul 27, 2009.

1. j-a-x macrumors 65816

j-a-x

I'm an ex iPhone developer. I had a developer account for a long time but I decided not to renew it because I'm a poor grad student who no longer has time for iPhone development because of my research. I was wondering if it was possible for me to revert from iPhone 3.1 beta 2 back to iPhone OS 3.0 because I hear 3.1 beta 2 will expire tonight. I installed beta 2 honestly with a valid developer account but my account expired 3 days ago and I am not able to download beta 3. Please let me know if this is possible to do without too much trouble. If not, I might have to bite the bullet and renew my account just to make sure I don't lose phone service at midnight!

2. megamanbnmaster macrumors 6502

You can put it to DFU mode and then revert it back.

3. j-a-x thread starter macrumors 65816

j-a-x

Are you sure or are you just guessing? I am thinking there might be a problem due to the fact that 3.1 beta 2 uses a different modem firmware (baseband) than 3.0.

4. Gav2k macrumors G3

Gav2k

Download os3.0 and do a manual flash it will revert back to 3.0

5. j-a-x thread starter macrumors 65816

j-a-x

By manual flash do you mean option click "check for updates" and chose the 3.0 firmware? Can anybody confirm that this works?

6. megamanbnmaster macrumors 6502

Oh, sorry, I wasn't sure which iPhone you were talking about. I can confirm that it's possible on a 2G iPhone as Ive done it myself though. However, I don't see a reason why it wouldn't work as people reverted from 3.0 betas to 2.2.1

7. j-a-x thread starter macrumors 65816

j-a-x

I should have mentioned, I'm using a 3GS.