Can a Dual CPU PMG5 run on only 1 of the PUs on its card?

Discussion in 'PowerPC Macs' started by UniqueDesigns, Jul 17, 2013.

  1. UniqueDesigns macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2013
    Location:
    USA
    #1
    I've had my Apple Power Macintosh G5 2.0 DP (PCI) Early 2005 - M9747LL/A - PowerMac7,3 - A1047 - 2061 since 6/2011.
    When I 1st got it I saved all the specs from my OSX10.5.8 System Profiler to a .text doc.
    As expected it tells my that I received a 2.0 GHx 2x processor unit.
    I was looking at my System Profiler tonight and see it is now telling me that I've got only ONE 970FX 2.0 processor.
    How could I be getting this feedback?
    Is it possible for 1 of 2 CPUs to crap out and the box still run?
    TIA
     
  2. Andropov macrumors regular

    Andropov

    Joined:
    May 3, 2012
    Location:
    Spain
    #2
    Yes, all Dual processor PowerMac G5 can run with only one processor. Does "About this Mac" also say that you only have one processor? (Just "About this Mac", not the full system profiler). If so, one of the processors is probably dead.
     
  3. UniqueDesigns thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2013
    Location:
    USA
    #3
    That is how the About this Mac reads -
    Processor - 2 GHz PowerPC G5

    The computer doesn't seem to run that much slower, though.
    An ebay seller has a couple 2.0 GHz Dual Processors up for auction.
    The daughter card has a big cube heat sink with it.
    Can I replace my now 1 CPU with this daughter card Dual Processor?
    If that's possible, could I upgrade to a faster (2.7) Dual Processor in this box?
    Thanks for the reply.
     
  4. rabidz7, Jul 18, 2013
    Last edited: Jul 18, 2013

    rabidz7 macrumors 65816

    rabidz7

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2012
    Location:
    Ohio
    #4
    [STRIKETHROUGH]
    If you upgrade to a 2.7, the CPU will run at 2.0GHz.

    You may be able to optimize the 2.7 to 3.0GHz, this has never been tested, and you should consider it very experimental.

    Try it, and tell us how it goes!
    http://forums.macrumors.com/showthread.php?t=1610373
    [/STRIKETHROUGH]


    Ignore the italic part above!

    A dual 2.7 will not work in your G5.
     
  5. 666sheep macrumors 68040

    666sheep

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2009
    Location:
    Poland
    #5
    OP, you can't upgrade to 2.7. Don't listen to rabidz7, he has no clue what he is talking about.

    If one of CPUs died (it must be one in lower socket), you need 2.0 970FX CPU. One of three part numbers: 661-3586, 603-6894, 630-6892
    Here is one.

    And you rabidz stop misleading people. You starting to lie again.
    Wanna OC your G5? Do it yourself instead of searching guinea pigs.
     
  6. rabidz7, Jul 18, 2013
    Last edited: Jul 18, 2013

    rabidz7 macrumors 65816

    rabidz7

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2012
    Location:
    Ohio
    #6
    He can upgrade to a 2.7, it would work fine, but there is no reason to as it would run at 2.0, however if he wants to test a theory of mine, then he can.
    I have edited my post to make it clearer that the overclock is not something the OP would want to try, unless he really wants to, and that it would run at 2.0 out of the box.
     
  7. 666sheep macrumors 68040

    666sheep

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2009
    Location:
    Poland
    #7
    No. It won't work. Only 2.3 would but not the 2.7. If you'd done this personally, you'd know that. Don't spread false info, especially if it's only "your theory".

    It's possible to upgrade 2.0 to 2.3 and calibrate it thermally using ASD but that's all. However I recommend to the OP just buying what he needs, i.e. 2.0 970FX.
     
  8. rabidz7 macrumors 65816

    rabidz7

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2012
    Location:
    Ohio
    #8
    The post has been removed, although I thought I read somewhere that that change was possible, I can't find the link now.
     

Share This Page