Can a iPod Touch 1.0 go straight to 3.0?

Discussion in 'iPod touch' started by MVApple, Aug 30, 2009.

  1. MVApple macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2008
    #1
    I'm selling my 1G iPod Touch and someone asked me if they can go from 1.0 firmware to 3.0, skipping 2.0.

    Or do they have to pay for 2.0 and then to 3.0?
     
  2. macsarethebest macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2009
    #2
    I don't know, but seeing as new touches ship with 2.0, I think it is a free update, then you can go to 3.0? :eek: good luck ;)
     
  3. michael.lauden macrumors 68020

    michael.lauden

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2008
    #3
    why wouldn't you be able to update. unless apple has released documentation along with 3.0 saying you can't.. then you can

    what's the problem
     
  4. archurban macrumors 6502a

    archurban

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2004
    Location:
    San Francisco, CA
    #4
    yes, you can. when Apple update iphone software, total volume is bigger because they deliver entire OS system for updating. so if you update from 1.0 to 3.0, it will be OK (3.0 is including everything beyond 1.0, 2.0).
     
  5. Silencer macrumors member

    Silencer

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2009
    Location:
    London
    #5
    I think arch is right you will only have to pay for the 3.0 firmware to update it.
     
  6. iMrNiceGuy0023 macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2009
    #6
    how much are u selling it for?
     
  7. 6daniels macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2009
    Location:
    Vancouver, BC

Share This Page