Can a MacBook Pro with Windows 7 run disc based Windows software?

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by boyakuotaku, Nov 25, 2011.

1. boyakuotaku macrumors newbie

Hello, before I get on with my question I will warn you that my computer has a broken keyboard, so please understand that there will likely be spelling errors in my post.

I'm about to start college next year and I am choosing between a 13" MacBook Pro and a Sony VAIO S laptop to use over the next four or five years. I understand that almost all intel-based Macs can run the Windows 7 operating system, (which is good for someone who has used Windows for almost 13 years) and because I'm a musician (as well as someone who is into art and animation) it would only seem natural that a Mac would be very appealing to me, but the style of music I plan to create is J-Pop and there lies the problem.

I intend to purchase the Hatsune Miku singing software in the near future to use with my Korg M50 keyboard, but to the best of my knowledge the software only works on Windows. It would seem logical that Miku's software would work on a Mac that is running Windows 7, but I've been a Windows user my whole life so I have very limited knowledge of how Macs work.

Also, if I run Windows 7 on a MacBook Pro would the computer need Windows anti-virus or would it only be able to catch Mac viruses?

Thanks to all who answer.

2. GTANJ macrumors member

It is, in every respect, a 100% genuine version of Windows, so yes, anything a windows machine can do, a Mac running a bootcamped version of windows can do.

3. boyakuotaku thread starter macrumors newbie

Thank you very much! If I want to switch back and forth between the two would I have to install and uninstall stuff or did Apple put in something special to do that?

4. GTANJ macrumors member

I'm not sure what you're asking.

5. heisenberg123 macrumors 603

heisenberg123