Can a second CPU be added to a 4core old Mac Pro?

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by omvs, Apr 14, 2014.

  1. omvs macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    May 15, 2011
    #1
    Wondering if the 4 core MacPro4,1 machines have a single socket or dual-socket main board.
     
  2. omvs thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    May 15, 2011
    #3
    Thanks!
     
  3. mobiousblack macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2012
    #4

    Wait sorry my bad I misread I thought you were talking about the nMP I honestly don't know.
     
  4. LorenK macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2007
    Location:
    Illinois
  5. flowrider macrumors 601

    flowrider

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2012
    #6
    Depending on the model The 4,1 Mac Pro came either as a single or dual CPU Machine. To change a Single CPU 4,1 to a Dual CPU configuration requires new heatsinks and CPU daughter cards. For all practical purposes the answer is once a single CPU, always a single CPU system.

    What you can do, however, with a 4,1 Mac Pro is upgrade the firmware to 5,1 and replace the old 4 core slow CPU with a faster 6 core model. And replace your RAM with 1333 MHz speed RAM. It will give your old machine new life.

    Lou
     
  6. Marty62 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2010
    Location:
    Berlin formerly London
    #7
    We were lucky, 3,1's had the spare "empty" socket !
    4,1's are only single OR dual socket ... no spare :-(

    The cost of the new CPU tray / CPU's and heat sinks is as much or more than
    the cost of a complete 4,1 mac with dual cpu's !!
    M
     

Share This Page