Carrier Can a spinrt Iphone 4s I brought be used in the philippines?

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by joshb84, Aug 8, 2013.

  1. joshb84 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2013
    #1
    I traded my PS3 for a Sprint Iphone 4s. The ESN is clean and it's under warranty until OCT 2015. Would I be able to send it to my fiance in the Philippines? Would she be able to use it there? Thank You for any replies.
     
  2. eyoungren macrumors Core

    eyoungren

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2011
    Location:
    ten-zero-eleven-zero-zero by zero-two
    #2
    The phone would need to be unlocked first. Sprint will only unlock for international use, not domestic. So, for the Philippines that should not be a problem.

    However, you do have a problem getting it unlocked internationally, unless you are a Sprint customer.

    To unlock it you have to meet Sprint's requirements.

    1. You must be a Sprint customer for at least 90 days.
    2. All bills must be paid on time and in full

    Then, Sprint will unlock your iPhone. If you do not or cannot meet these requirements then the iPhone will not be unlocked and your fiance will be unable to use it there.

    There is no commercially available unlock. Meaning, there are no websites, no eBay stores or anything like that where you can pay money and obtain an unlock. If you could, the unlock would still only be for international use and Sprint prohibits any of it's iPhone IMEI/ESNs from being in the Apple unlock database (domestic).
     
  3. joshb84 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2013
    #3
    Ok.

    I have a boost mobile account. I'm hoping since boost mobile falls under Sprint. That they will unlock the phone then.
     
  4. eyoungren macrumors Core

    eyoungren

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2011
    Location:
    ten-zero-eleven-zero-zero by zero-two
    #4
    I don't know. I do know however, that Boost will not allow you to bring your own phone to their network. I was looking to cut costs once and they refused to take my out of contract HTC Touch Pro on to their network.

    You may have better luck, but just be prepared to be shot down.
     
  5. joshb84 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2013
    #5
    I do have a galaxy s2 I brought from someone for 50 bucks off craigslist. I have a samsung prevail and someone flashed my information to it remotly for $35. I then had to call and tell them when the phone was first activated for some reason. Then they did something and now the phone works for me on boost mobile. The guy that flashed it just said to tell them its a samsung previal and never to turn my samsung prevail back on. So I took out the battery and threw it in a drawer.
     

Share This Page