Can Adobe do this...

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by fontsmith, Aug 28, 2012.

  1. fontsmith macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2012
    #1
    Hi folks,

    i have a question for the prof. users here, its not really a mac pro related question but since allot of mac pro users also work with Adobe i'm hoping for some awnsers from.

    I did a complete new install of OSX...when trying to install my original purchased Adobe Master collection CS4 the disc just didn't start up, there's no scratches or anything i guess its just faulty since in every other computer i try it doesn't start up either. i contacted Adobe and at first they were like...ok no problem i'm going to send you a link were you can download CS4 since we no longer have the CS4 discs.

    That was ok for me...the linked they send me, witch was a 3rd party link, not even from an adobe server but just from some website (!!??) was dead. they called me back just to make sure if everything was working, i told the guy the link was dead...after checking it out himself he told me to wait a few minutes since he had to go ask to his superior on what to do next.

    After some time he came back simply saying that he was sorry but that there was nothing they could do to help since they no longer have CS4 and that i needed to buy an upgrade to CS6.:mad:

    I payed close to 4000€ for this software a few years ago...can they actually do this, is this even legal, i mean shouldn't they bey able to help me out here in some way. He told me that if i didn't agree i could always send an email...

    any ideas on what i should do or could do in this case?
     
  2. TableSyrup macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    May 29, 2012
    #2
    If you legitimately own CS4 and have your serials, all you need is the installer.

    Search eBay for the INSTALLER CD/DVD's ONLY, or search Craigslist, or post on Craigslist that you need a copy of JUST the installer

    Here's the thing. With the new copyright laws, technically, if you need to, SINCE YOU OWN IT, you can run a bootleg since they won't help you. Just be sure to keep YOUR serial numbers around.

    I'm surprised the download is not still up. I had to re-install my CS4 Web Premium Suite last year, and downloaded it directly from my Adobe account.
     
  3. simsaladimbamba

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2010
    Location:
    located
    #3
    You could download the appropriate Adobe trials from here and use your serials, though I don't know, if that is okay for you:
    Adobe trials for CS3 to CS 5.5
     
  4. orthm macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2009
    Location:
    North Carolina
    #4
    It would help to know what versions of OSX you are trying this on. If CS4 used a Rosetta based installer, it will not work on 10.7 or 10.8 since those components are not in OSX any more. If that is the case, you need to upgrade CS or install 10.6, then install CS4, then upgrade OSX to whatever level you want to run.
     
  5. fontsmith thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2012
    #5
    thnx for replying everyone, i'm not longer going to bother contacting Adobe about this anymore...one thing is for sure that i will "N E V E R" buy software from Adobe again. I feel like a complete jerk trying to get my 4000$ CS4 to run whilst other people out there are running CS6 without paying 1$...

    oh well lesson learned...If this is how Adobe treats its customers they can ****** off. Then they wonder why everybody is downloading pirated software...

    sorry for the frustration guys:D
     
  6. Jessica Lares macrumors G3

    Jessica Lares

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2009
    Location:
    Near Dallas, Texas, USA
    #6
    So Adobe tried to help you in the best way they could, and you're still pointing the fingers at them at how it's their fault?

    Creative Suite 4 came out in 2008, that's four years ago, and during the time of OS X Leopard. Are you really expecting them to support FOUR major operating system updates?

    You can easily bootcamp to Windows and install it under Windows 7, or create a partition and install Snow Leopard/Lion to be able to use it.

    BTW: The software is supposed to pay itself off. $5,000 is nothing.
     
  7. AdrianK macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2011
    #7
    Personally I think the lesson to be learnt is to backup a disk which is part of a $4000 investment, but that's just me.

    Pretty much what I'm thinking. Does Adobe have a contractual obligation to provide a replacement installer download or physical installation media? I doubt it.
     
  8. Macman45 macrumors demi-god

    Macman45

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2011
    Location:
    Somewhere Back In The Long Ago
    #8
    You should have backed up as posted, but I have to say that Adobe are not the best company to deal with...I had a major dispute with them a few years back, and refuse point blank to purchase anything from them again, they basically told me that a 6 month old licence was no longer valid (long boring story insert here) and that my £3K would have to be spent again.

    This occurred after a promise that they would port my licences to OSX on two machines. I had backups, but they were of course useless.

    I manage quite happily with OSX software now, despite them phoning me from time to time offering "discounts" I won;t budge.
     
  9. simsaladimbamba

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2010
    Location:
    located
    #9
    I can understand both sides, but what about the option I presented in post #3?

    I also have bought several applications on CDs and DVDs (oh, I miss the times when an entire application could fit on a ZIP disk), but I have used Disk Utility to make copies of it in DMG or CDR format and store those on two HDDs (one for storage, one for backup), which makes installing most of them faster and in case the DVDs broke (if I ever want to use those suckers again) I could burn another one.
     
  10. teleromeo macrumors 65816

    teleromeo

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2006
    Location:
    kidnapped by aliens
    #10
    I ordered the photoshop CS3 upgrade in 2007 and upgraded to CS5 in 2010. Both orders where online downloads without physical copy. I'm downloading the CS3 dmg right now through my adobe account. I'm sure Adobe still has the files you need available.
     
  11. firedept macrumors 603

    firedept

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2011
    Location:
    Somewhere!
    #11
    Still able to download any of my Adobe products going back to 2004 right from Adobe site. As long as you registered with Adobe.
     
  12. Draeconis macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    May 6, 2008
    #12
    I work for a publishing company, I'm typing this on an iMac running 10.8.1, which has CS3, CS4, CS5 and CS5.5 installed. Nothing fancy needed.

    Just download the trial and enter your license information in, should work.
     
  13. fontsmith thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2012
    #13
    Basicaly yeah that is exactly what i'm expecting...i don't know about the rest of you guys but its not every year that i spent 4000€ for software. The fact that they can't send me another disc is not the problem, i can totally understand if they no longer have cs4 on disc, but one could at least expect for Adobe to still have the files for download for the customers whom do not upgrade every year, just in case something happens, or am i the only one on planet earth still working with CS4 here? Also the claim that Adobe simply no longer has CS4 is complete BS, its all a matter of bad customer service. Like i said before, never will i buy software again from Adobe.

    CS 5 was released in 2010 so doesn't matter really if CS4 was released in 2008, its still only 2y/o software.

    also for some reason i can't download the CS4 from the given links, i always getting an error or CS6 page.
     
  14. deconstruct60 macrumors 604

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2009
    #15
    You have never used the disk in all the years since purchased or it used to work but is somehow damaged at this point?

    In the latter case, even if it was a "redundant" disk at the time, it is a good idea to check to see if a $5000 CD/DVD actually works once you get it. In the latter case, lack of back-ups means you are at risk. There is nothing in a licensing agreement where Adobe (or most any other software vendor) signs up to be the infinite term back-up provider for your media.


    Again backups. You have no back-ups of environments before your recent clean install of OS X ? None?

    If have a back-up from that version of OS X or previous then start up "Migration Assistant" and just migrate over the Applications. ( If I recall correctly this has unfortunate side effect of dragging over everything. But cleaning up a mess is better than no app at all. )


    It is somewhat lame adobe doesn't have an archive site. Even just bandwidth throttled server that is just painfully slow to discourage use.

    My guess is that pirate replication sites were using the older archives repetitively reseed sources. The amount of piracy of CS4 far exceeds the revenue support so just trying to minimize their exposure.
     
  15. Derpage Suspended

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2012
    #16
    Cry about it some more. I'm sure it will get your copy of CS4 working.
     
  16. fontsmith thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2012
    #17
    yeah, my world is completely upside down, been in bed all day because of this situation...i'm considering to write a letter to congress and starting a blog or forum about how much adobe sucks.

    You can join Derpage
     
  17. driftless macrumors demi-god

    driftless

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2011
    Location:
    Chicago-area
    #18
    Pull yourself together man. Geeezzz. Did you even try the Adobe link that I previously posted? You should, it designed specifically to address your problem. Run the program, try to install from your disk.
     
  18. fontsmith thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2012
    #19
    i was being sarcastic since Derpage has the impression i'm crying about it.

    Thnx for the link, i already tryed it out but for some reason all CS4 links are dead, i'm always getting a CS6 trial page.

    I kind of gave up and now using CS6...trial ofcourse :D
     
  19. driftless macrumors demi-god

    driftless

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2011
    Location:
    Chicago-area
    #20
    The Cleaner works for all CS apps. I just used it as I uninstalled a CS6 and wasn't able to reinstall it without using the Cleaner. Enjoy CS6.
     
  20. Melbourne Park, Aug 28, 2012
    Last edited: Aug 28, 2012

    Melbourne Park macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2012
    #21
    Yesterday B&H offered - with a serial number linked to in my case, my email - a discount for CS6. Their price for CS6 is $650. The discount was $400. Along with a training video they claim is worth $50. Free shipping to USA. So ... $250 for a legal CS6 ... I would imagine that Adobe could offer a reasonable upgrade price if you are having problems.

    I had an issue once with Windows XP. The IBM (yes - pre Lenovo) Thinkpad never came with an OS disk. It was a school machine (for my son). I requested an OS disk, but the school would never assist, and the supplier of the computers would not either.

    So ... when the computer had finished its three years of use and was replaced, I rang Microsoft in Australia. I emailed a picture of the back of the notebook, and a couple of days later, they sent for free, an XP disc.

    I also lost a Leopard OS disk once ... and I needed it for some reason ... at that time, Mac OS was expensive. Apple Australia sent me a disk - I think for a few dollars, but maybe for nothing. Later on, I found the lost disk!!!

    So ... using those companies as reference, Adobe should be able to assist you.

    People here are saying use back-ups. But often, a backup will not work if you have changed computers. Replacing a computer is normal, and sometimes, you might need an operational disc for that process. More so for older software too, compared to today's, which is typically designed to be downloaded.

    I would find out someone to talk to, and send by registered mail, the faulty disk, along with a copy of your invoice, and along with a copy of your serial number. I believe they'd be obliged to send back a replacement disk.

    And if not, who knows, they might send back today's version. The key would be to send the originals to the Adobe office in your country. And to the right support personnel. Employees cannot give property away. But in the right circumstances - such as a clearly faulty disk - employees will want to act to solve your problem. You just have to manage the circumstances for them. And often, its getting to the right people.

    IF all else fails, ask for customer relations, and there will be someone close to the top who does that. Describe the time you've spent, and the people you've spoken to. Eventually, go for the MD or CEO of the Adobe in your country. It'll just take a word from someone with authority, and your problems will be fixed.

    IMO this is all due to pirating, and the very high prices that Adobe charges. It sounds like Adobe are infected to some extent, with suspicion. The first way to clear that up, is to email pictures of your disk, serial number pictures, and your invoice/receipt.

    I do believe that if you find the person with authority you'll get things right.
     
  21. fontsmith thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2012
    #22
    thnx for replying,

    Don't think it has anything to do with them being suspicious that i'm using pirated software, they pretty much checked the serial number and email it was registered to so i'm guessing that shouldn't be an issue.

    I don't think i'm going to bother with trying to contact someone higher up, writing letters...etc. I actually asked to speak to someone higher up the ladder, and the answer was that it was the guys superior supervisor that basically said that there was nothing they could do to help, since the company Adobe apparently does no longer have CS4 in any way, shape or form. He advised me to upgrade to CS6 witch should only take a few minutes...
     
  22. Melbourne Park macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2012
    #23
    Your issue then.

    And ... what if you were running an old computer, that was not compatible with CS6, and wasn't functional with CS6?

    You don't get to the superior by going through the support staff. You go to a different division of the company, a while different flavour of ethics and mission. You could start with the CEO. CEOs have to reply to such issues. Adobe is a public company. And bad PR costs large amounts of money to buy back, via marketing. Hence PR is important - another avenue.

    Forget service. It is likely their incompetence or laziness that lost the spare discs. Or perhaps illegally sold them. Who knows why they really are behaving so badly? And you won't find out via service IMO, and from your own experience too.
     
  23. ActionableMango macrumors 604

    ActionableMango

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2010
    #24
    So have you tried simsaladimbamba's suggestion yet? That is exactly what I was going to suggest.
     

Share This Page