can all macbooks handle 4 gigs of ram?

Discussion in 'MacBook' started by dethklok7, Jan 29, 2009.

  1. dethklok7 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2008
    #1
    When i originally bought my black macbook it came with 1 gig of ram. I was wondering if this model can support up to 4 gigs of ram. I was planning on upgrading.
     
  2. rust.puppet macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2008
    Location:
    Ashtabula, OH
    #2
    got this from OWC:
    "
    Up to 500GB Hard Drive
    and Memory:
    Up to 6GB Memory
    MacBook 13.3" 2.0GHz*
    MacBook 13.3" 2.1GHz
    MacBook 13.3" 2.2GHz
    MacBook 13.3" 2.4GHz
    Up to 4GB Memory
    MacBook 13.3" 2.16GHz
    Up to 2GB Memory
    MacBook 13.3" 1.83GHz
    *Core Duo 2.0GHz model supports up to 2GB Memory; May 2007 MacBook 2.0GHz model supports up to 4.0GB Memory; Late 2007 'Santa Rosa' MacBook 2.0GHz Model supports up to 6.0GB of memory."
     
  3. walldawg84 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2008
    #3
    6.0GB!? That's a lot more than I thought any macbook could support, especially a late 2007 one. I got my Blackbook in July 2007, and it only supports 3GB, although I'm running 2x2GB chips in it because I was stupid and didn't think about it at the time before ordering. It definitely doesn't support 4GB.

    Also, I haven't seen a 3GB RAM chip, so seeing as you'll only really have 2 slots for RAM, then in my opinion (although I'm more than willing to be proved wrong) 4GB would be the maximum you COULD go for, if your macbook will support it.

    OP, apparently Crucial has an app that can tell you how much RAM your chipset can support ... I haven't used it, think it's on their homepage though.
     
  4. svndmvn Guest

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2007
    Location:
    Italy
    #4
    4+2 would be the way to go. Last generation Macbooks and Pros could see 8GB, actually, but it was a little problematic with certain applications, no problems having 6GB. The current ones, except the 17" Pro, and no one knows about the white macbooks which are still to arrive, can't even see more than 6GB, but they will work perfectly fine with 4GB or 6GB.
     
  5. GfulDedFan macrumors 65816

    GfulDedFan

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2007
    Location:
    Indiana
    #5
    The first MacBook (Core Duo) can only handle installation of 2GB of RAM. Since the Core 2 Duo MacBooks were released in late '06, you can install 4GB but were only able to use 3 to 3.3GB until late '07. Since the November '07 release, all 4GB can be used.

    So, in answer to the OP, the only ones where you can't install 4GB is the original, May '06, 1,1 , Core Duo, MINE.:mad:
     
  6. XnavxeMiyyep macrumors 65816

    XnavxeMiyyep

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2003
    Location:
    Washington
    #6
    Sorry to bump the thread, but does anyone know if you can remove a 512 MB chip from an original core duo macbook to update to 2x1 gig, or would the max at that point just be 1.5 gigs?
     
  7. ayeying macrumors 601

    ayeying

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2007
    Location:
    Yay Area, CA
    #7
    Both chips are removable. Its located in the battery compartment.
     
  8. SnowLeopard2008 macrumors 604

    SnowLeopard2008

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2008
    Location:
    Silicon Valley
    #8
    Only the Core 2 Duo models support 4GB. Core Duo tops at 3.3GB?
     
  9. ayeying macrumors 601

    ayeying

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2007
    Location:
    Yay Area, CA
    #9
    He wanted to upgrade to 2x1GB chips for a total of 2GB, not 4.

    And Core Duo supports a max of 2GB, no higher.
     
  10. XnavxeMiyyep macrumors 65816

    XnavxeMiyyep

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2003
    Location:
    Washington
    #10
    Ok, cool. Thanks.:)
     

Share This Page