Can an Air power two 2560x1440 Displays?

Discussion in 'MacBook Air' started by atMac, Aug 27, 2012.

  1. atMac macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2011
    #1
    I'm thinking of picking up two 27in Catleap displays from ebay since they will together be cheaper than a Thunderbolt display and I don't do anything that requires super accurate colors.

    Will my 2011 13in Air be able to output to both of them? Or should I stick with one?
     
  2. mikeray macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2006
    Location:
    Brooklyn, NY
    #2
    Yes
    http://forums.macrumors.com/showthread.php?t=1384012
     
  3. jdechko macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2004
    #3
    No, the 2011 Air cannot power 2 displays at that resolution. It could power 1 at that res, and another at up to 1920x1200 with a USB display link adapter, but not 2@2560x1440.
     
  4. daveishere macrumors 6502a

    daveishere

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2008
    Location:
    UK
    #4
    I thought the HD 4000 chip in the '12 Air could power two TB displays?
     
  5. 007bond macrumors 6502a

    007bond

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2008
    Location:
    DFW, Texas
    #5
    It can, but I don't think the 2011 model (the one the OP has) can.
     
  6. daveishere macrumors 6502a

    daveishere

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2008
    Location:
    UK
    #6
    My apologies, missed the 2011 bit in your post :S
     
  7. jamesr19 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2009
    #7
    It's not hardware/natively supported, but you can run two monitors at that res on the 2011 MBA - I've done so myself (with two 1920x1200 24").

    You need a USB->DVI adapter that uses the DisplayLink chipset. I got mine from Amazon for £50 and it works fine - supports up to your desired resolution too. There is a bit of lag running HD movies on the USB run monitor and doing quick animations but i've had no problems with standard use. Its basically like plugging in a secondary (less powerful) graphics card.
     

Share This Page