Can an Apple keyboard be used on a PC?

Discussion in 'Mac Accessories' started by stevod, Jan 25, 2009.

  1. stevod macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2009
    Location:
    London
    #1
    Well it may seem odd, but there are no nice keyboards for PCs, or I can;t find them!

    So is there a way of using the Apple keyboards on a PC. I'm thinking of the wired ones, so just using USB.

    Any help appreciated!

    Cheers,

    S
     
  2. Tallest Skil macrumors P6

    Tallest Skil

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2006
    Location:
    1 Geostationary Tower Plaza
  3. ZiggyPastorius macrumors 68040

    ZiggyPastorius

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2007
    Location:
    Berklee College of Music
    #3
    While the answer is yes, there is some confusion in the fact that Apple says the keyboard is not compatible with Windows, even though they say the Mighty Mouse is. For someone who isn't computer literate, or atleast not very experienced with them, this could create confusion.
     
  4. zer0tails macrumors 65816

    zer0tails

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2008
    Location:
    Canada
    #4
    Yes, I believe they'll work. Only thing is you might not be able to use the media keys on the top row.

    As for there being no nice keyboards for pcs, check out Logitech's dinovo edge. That's one awesome form + function keyboard that rivals apple keyboards.
     
  5. Osarkon macrumors 68020

    Osarkon

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2006
    Location:
    Wales
    #5
    It'll work fine. And if you install Apple's bootcamp keyboard drivers, then you can have all the media keys working as well.

    When I had a vista machine I used my apple keyboard on it, no problems at all. Even the eject key worked.
     
  6. Tallest Skil macrumors P6

    Tallest Skil

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2006
    Location:
    1 Geostationary Tower Plaza
    #6
    Eh?! Where? :confused:
     
  7. Osarkon macrumors 68020

    Osarkon

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2006
    Location:
    Wales
    #7
    It doesn't explicitly say that actually.

    Minimum System Requirements

    * Mac computer with available USB 1.1 or USB 2.0 port
    * Mac OS X v10.4.10 or later
    * Keyboard software update

    So yeah, where again?
     
  8. iCheddar macrumors 6502a

    iCheddar

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2007
    Location:
    South Dakota
    #8
    Back when I was running XP, I had an alu Apple keyboard. It worked, except that since I never bothered mapping keys, a few things didn't work as labelled, but it wasn't an issue.

    For example, 'clear' is numlock, fn was printscreen, etc.
     
  9. SnowLeopard2008 macrumors 604

    SnowLeopard2008

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2008
    Location:
    Silicon Valley
    #9
    Yes. I used my bluetooth aluminum Apple keyboard with Windows XP, Vista and 7. All works. If you don't install the drivers, the special media function keys at the top won't work, they just function as normal F keys.
     
  10. Eidorian macrumors Penryn

    Eidorian

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Location:
    Indianapolis
    #10
    I miss the Prt Scrn/F11 keys for gaming screen shots on my tower. Otherwise it's a fine keyboard for Windows.

    The Bluetooth model won't work for BIOS either kids. :(
     
  11. Atomicfission92 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2009
    #11
    Use this Its a little program called SharkKeys and it lets you reassign the keys on the Apple Keyboard to ones that Windows sees. So you can make F13 or whatnot your print screen or what have you.

    Hope that helps.
     
  12. Sesshi macrumors G3

    Sesshi

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2006
    Location:
    One Nation Under Gordon
    #12
    Have you looked at all?
     
  13. stevod thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2009
    Location:
    London
    #13
    Ha ha yes of course I have!

    The nicest I've found is the one that comes with the recent Sony Vaio JS all-in-one - their imac copy. Really great, but I can't find where to buy them separately.

    Thanks for all the other comments. My main concerns were the Windows button and things like that, but it looks that that's all covered above.

    Thanks!

    S
     
  14. stevod thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2009
    Location:
    London
    #14
    Yes I've seen that, but I really like the scrabble type isolation keyboard, and I need a number pad.....

    Cheers,

    S
     
  15. Sesshi macrumors G3

    Sesshi

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2006
    Location:
    One Nation Under Gordon
    #15
    Oh I see. What you actually mean is "PC keyboards which look like the Apple ones". In that case given Sony's price for their (nicer, IMO) wireless keyboard, I guess you're best off going for Apple's.
     
  16. ZMacintosh macrumors 65816

    ZMacintosh

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2008
    #16
    im using a wire alu apple keyboard on a HP running XP.
    all did was extract the Keyboard drivers from my Bootcamp and installed them on the HP and all the keys function (media, volume, eject, etc) minus brightness since i dont have an ACD hooked up to it..


    so yes, very much compatible...just be smarter than the peripherals and computer :p
     
  17. stevod thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2009
    Location:
    London
    #17
    Sort of - scrabble/isolation keys are what I'm after. The Sony that's available (AFAIK) is a conventional style keyboard.

    I have a Vaio Z which has a great keyboard, but I'd love something similar for when it's docked....

    .....like the Apple one!

    S
     
  18. stevod thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2009
    Location:
    London
    #18

    Sounds good - I am also on XP.

    Is there anywhere I can download these drivers from? Do they come with the keyboard?

    Thanks also to Osarkon who mentioned these drivers above.

    S
     
  19. Sesshi macrumors G3

    Sesshi

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2006
    Location:
    One Nation Under Gordon
    #19
    I don't dock my Z's (superior key feel to the Apple wireled/wireless keyboard IMO), but this is what I'm using with the docked SZ's.
    http://www.logitech.com/index.cfm/keyboards/keyboard/devices/4740&cl=gb,en
     
  20. Bwilky macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2008
    #20
    The F13 Key by default is assigned to print screen under windows use.
     
  21. stevod thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2009
    Location:
    London
    #21
    That looks nice actually.

    But I now have the Apple keyboard! And it's really good. Not quite as good as the one on the Z itself, but still excellent and great value.

    I haven't tried the bootcamp drivers as it sounded like it would also affect how my laptop's built-in keyboard works too, but as I have pretty much everything working without them (apart from the special functions) it's unlikely I'll tinker with it in case it all goes wrong.

    Thanks for all the assistance though.....

    S
     
  22. stevod thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2009
    Location:
    London
    #22
    Not on mine it isn't - do you mean if you use the bootcamp drivers?

    S
     
  23. iSaygoodbye macrumors 6502a

    iSaygoodbye

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2009
    Location:
    a boat
    #23
    the genuises say it at the retial stores i asked one of them one time
     
  24. stevod thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2009
    Location:
    London
    #24
    Well it's 99% there just plugged in on USB. You only miss a couple of buttons like right-click, print screen, and scroll lock. Everything else is AOK!

    S
     

Share This Page