Can anyone access exchange via OWA?

Discussion in 'iPhone Tips, Help and Troubleshooting' started by UltraDean, Jul 2, 2007.

  1. UltraDean macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2007
    #1
    Unfortunately, I'm not able to access our exchange server via IMAP, so I was hoping to at least be able to check it via OWA. Oddly enough, I get as far as the login using safari on the iphone, but it just stalls after that.

    Has anyone had any success with OWA?
     
  2. rdowns macrumors Penryn

    rdowns

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2003
    #2
    I was able to access our OWA with no problems.
     
  3. eddietr macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2006
    Location:
    Virginia
  4. ShockerMan4x4 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2007
    #4
    I just tried as well, works just fine for me.
     
  5. UltraDean thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2007
    #5
    Thanks, guys. I'm not sure what it is about ours that's prohibiting me from logging on, but at least I know it's definitely possible (I guess that's a good consolation). :rolleyes:

    By any chance, did you need to change any safari settings in order for it to work?
     
  6. randgalt macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2007
    #6
    Safari just hangs for me when I try to display the OWA website. I've read lots of reports of similar behavior.
     
  7. UltraDean thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2007
    #7
    I wonder if it's due to a setting on the exchange server? (I'm obviously not very knowledgeable about mail/exchange settings)
     
  8. paulpet macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2006
    #8
    Not working for me either.

    Exchange server 2003, via SSL.
     
  9. UltraDean thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2007
    #9
    Just wanted to see if anyone who previously was unable to use OWA has had any success since.

    This is really bumming me out since it's the only means for me to receive my corporate email.
     
  10. boeingair macrumors member

    Joined:
    May 21, 2006
    #10
    Works fine for me.. Just browsed to the OWA website.
     
  11. Leonardj macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2007
    #11
    No webmail access

    I am having the same problem with OWA, Safari just hangs. I have no problem on my laptop or other public computer.
     
  12. UltraDean thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2007
    #12
    Like some kind of fiend I've been scouring other forums for more information about this issue. While it definitely seems like other people are experiencing the same problem, I haven't come across an explanation or solution.
     
  13. paulpet macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2006
    #13
    Have you noticed any patterns?

    I mean, it would be good to know the version of exchange and whether it's over SSL or not, and compare that information between the ones it's working for and the ones it's not.
     
  14. UltraDean thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2007
    #14
    I ran across one instance of a person who was able to access OWA via HTTP but not over HTTPS. I'm able to log in to my bank's web site via HTPPS so I'm not sure if that's the culprit.
     
  15. rdowns macrumors Penryn

    rdowns

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2003
    #15
    The only Safari setting I touched ( I think) was cookies. I have it set to accept them "From visited". Could that be the problem?

    Also, I can access my bank through https so I don't thnk that's the issue here.
     
  16. UltraDean thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2007
  17. Leonardj macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2007
    #17
    Owa

    I did a reset on the phone as I could no get the login screen up on the owa domain. I figured Safari had cached it and maybe I typed the passworld wrong. When I went backin the login screen popped up and I tried again, and it just hangs there. I even deleted cookies and history and no go. Needs to be a solution to this soon as I am about at the end of my rope with the Iphone. I made some concessions and paid $600 and would at least like to get webmail if I cannot have activesync.

    Leonard
     
  18. Xenious macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2004
    Location:
    Texas, USA
    #18
    Works fine for me. A little bit of trouble navigating around the page from the folder areas to the content area, but it works.
     
  19. UltraDean thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2007
    #19
    For those of you who have gotten OWA to work, is yours using http or https?
     
  20. eddietr macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2006
    Location:
    Virginia
    #20
    Mine is working with https.
     
  21. balamw Moderator

    balamw

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    Location:
    New England
    #21
    Could this be an issue of self-signed vs. "issued" SSL certificates?

    I know IE7 doesn't like my company's self-signed cert.

    B
     
  22. paulpet macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2006
    #22

    No, I don't think so.

    We use an issued certificate (from Entrust) and I am not able to connect.
     
  23. rdowns macrumors Penryn

    rdowns

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2003
    #23

    https here.
     
  24. Macromullet macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2007
    #24
    I think this issue has more to do with authentication than SSL. The reason I think that is that on our server I can browse to:

    http://mail.mycompany.com and
    https://mail.mycompany.com

    and both work fine (i get the standard IIS under construction message because there is no page at that address).

    Now if I browse to either

    http://mail.mycompany.com/exchange or
    https://mail.mycompany.com/exchange

    I get a the hang after authentication. This makes me believe its the auth process and not the SSL negotiation.
     
  25. UltraDean thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2007
    #25
    When I browse to either:
    http://exchange.company.com
    https://exchange.company.com

    it redirects me to:
    https://exchange.company.com/exchange

    and then hangs
     

Share This Page