Can anyone help me jb/unlock iphone 3g running 3.1.2?

Discussion in 'Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks' started by Mosco, Oct 16, 2010.

  1. Mosco macrumors regular

    Joined:
    May 26, 2002
    #1
    I am getting really confused here.

    My girlfriends parents just upgraded to iphone 4s, so they want to bring their iphone 3g with them to the Philippines to give them to their family.

    They are running:

    3.1.2
    05.11.07

    Now I am guessing that in order for this to work, I need to jailbreak/hactivate/unlock.

    They are fine with staying on 3.1.2 so I don't really need to care about 4.0. So what I am wondering is how do I do this?

    I downloaded pwnagetool 3.15 and created a custom image, but for some reason I can't get cydia to load anything (I am connected to wifi). Am I doing something wrong to get this to happen? I had used spirit on it previously and cydia was working fine, it is just when I try pwnagetool (which is required to hacktivate?). BTW, I had restored to a fresh copy after I ran spirit and then tried pwnagetool.

    Is there another option?

    Thanks.
     
  2. KatanaAzul macrumors member

    Joined:
    May 7, 2010
    #2
    Have you tried jailbreakme.com? Just go there, slide the slider, and it should jailbreak it and install cydia.
     
  3. Applejuiced macrumors Westmere

    Applejuiced

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Location:
    At the iPhone hacks section.
    #3
    Yes, and after that just install ultrasnow from cydia and you're done.


     
  4. Mosco thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    May 26, 2002
    #4
    Right, I know about these options. But will that get the phone activated too? There is a ATT sim in there now for an inactive account, so I just wanted to make sure that if I use something like like jailbreakme.com that they won't have any issues putting in another sim after I install ultrasnow.

    Is hacktivation not needed?
     
  5. KatanaAzul macrumors member

    Joined:
    May 7, 2010
    #5
    I don't have much experience with ultrasn0w, but I think you have to have the sim card you are going to use inserted when install it (or at least re-install it). Jailbreaking with jailbreakme.com with your inactive att sim should be just fine, just switch the sim cards before you install ultrasn0w. I think you also have to do something with APN settings after that.
     
  6. Applejuiced macrumors Westmere

    Applejuiced

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Location:
    At the iPhone hacks section.
    #6
    No, there wont be any issues putting another sim after.
    Thats what unlocking does, it lets you use any carrriers sim.
    You can activate with the old at&t sim and then JB and install ultrasnow and you're good to go.


     

Share This Page