Can anyone help me with my ReadyNAS? (Setup/Solution/General Help)

Discussion in 'Mac Accessories' started by troy14, Oct 15, 2012.

1. troy14 macrumors 6502a

Hi Guys, I hope this is in the right place (Mac Peripherals) because it really isn't made by Apple but still could be considered a peripheral?

Anyways, for my birthday my brother bought me a Netgear ReadyNas Duo, with 2 western digital 2TB hard drives. It is set up (in a very basic way), but I have quite a few issues/questions/hoping I can do this things that I need to figure out. My brother is a very big IT guy but he just knows everything for windows - my Mac he is clueless to. He promises to look into / research what I need etc, but he does not live with me and works very long hours and has little free time.

Anyways, this is what I hope I can accomplish.

Let me first tell you what I hope I can do with it, and then describe my situation/setup. I am a college student who uses my laptop to type all my notes - usually on Word or Powerpoint. I have many notes, work, etc. that is very valuable. As I type my notes / save the files on my Macbook Pro, I would like to not only save them on my computer - but have that "backed" up to my NAS as well. At the same time would be preferred. This is so I can access my important school files from any computer (whether it be my friends, computer lab, teachers, etc).

On this same token, I would like the NAS (or any other program I need, free or buying) to back up my iPhoto, and iTunes music. I have become more serious about my digital camera picture collection and need it to be always backed up (previously if I lost my pictures I didn't really have anything that I needed and it was ok). I would like to do this automatically as well.

My other goals for my NAS are to have a separate partition for Time Machine. I think this is an easy part because the Netgear ReadyNAS software has an option for this built in.