Can anyone run Windows7 64x on new unibody MBP?

Discussion in 'Windows, Linux & Others on the Mac' started by borfa, Feb 11, 2009.

  1. borfa macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2009
    #1
    I've been running windows 7 for the last 2 weeks and loving it! My only problem is that it KEEP FREEZING, so randomly too. I've tried to isolate what would cause the problem but with no success. Sometimes it can freezes 3 times in a row with only notepad open and other times it can run 24h with 15 softwares running. I've tried a few Realtek audio drivers, crapload of different nvidia drivers (official and beta) but still freeze. I was thinking maybe overheating so i got smcfancontrol and put them at 5000rpm but still same thing.

    When it does freeze, i cant do anything, mouse dont move, even the keyboard caplock led dont react from pressing the button, or do alt-ctrl-del. Though one thing i just discover is that when it freeze up, if i hit the shutdown button on the mac (not holding it for force shutdown), it unfreeze and close all the applications and start shutting down normally like it was never frozen???

    So ya Im a bit lost here. So i dont know if its windows 7 by itself, or the 64x version.. but Im doing this cry for help before being force back to winxp
     
  2. tecknical macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2008
    #2
    maybe its a bad install. did you try reformatting and installing again? the 64-bit works just fine on my MBP, granted its an early 08 one
     
  3. Hydroxs macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2008
    Location:
    Tuscaloosa
    #3
    Well it is still in beta so stuff like this will happen.
     
  4. matperk macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    May 6, 2004
    Location:
    Milwaukee, Wisconsin
    #4
    Try installing with only 2gigs of RAM installed. Vista had issues with 4gb on install. I had a lot of issues with it myself. Weird freezes and such.

    It's worth a shot.
     
  5. tecknical macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2008
    #5
    its 64-bit...it should run like crap on 2GB of RAM. thats why its x64, to take advantage of all that RAM you crammed into your machine
     
  6. chewietobbacca macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2007
    #6
    x64 doesn't mean it will run worse with less memory - x64 mainly means that you will get the advantage of utilizing all your memory + faster performance with x64 based programs

    win7 runs smoothly even with 512mb so 2gb will be enough, though you won't get the full benefit of x64
     

Share This Page