Can Anyones Mac Pro Play This Video Smoothly?

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by Mr.PS, Feb 16, 2008.

  1. Mr.PS macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2008
    #1
  2. dansai macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2008
    #2
    Yeah, I'm getting the same results as you... In fact, it completely locked Quicktime up towards the middle of the video (but not the whole of OS X thankfully).

    Haven't tried VLC yet, will see if I can get that installed later, only got my Mac Pro 4 hours ago :p)
     
  3. Osarkon macrumors 68020

    Osarkon

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2006
    Location:
    Wales
    #3
    My 1st Generation Macbook managed to play it just fine in Quicktime if that's of any help? :p It complained a bit when I resized the video, but apart from that it ran smoothly.
     
  4. eyecool macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2008
    Location:
    Fort Worth, TX
    #4
    I don't have audio, but the video looked kind of choppy on a 2.8/8800GT in quicktime. =/
     
  5. Mr.PS thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2008
    #5
    Yep, totally choppy in quicktime, smooth as butter in VLC though.
     
  6. reden macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2006
  7. Mr.PS thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2008
    #7
    doubtful, I don't switch resolutions much. I also tried to replicate the issue you were having and I couldn't. I noticed no performance hit when changing resolutions 5-6x then back to full-res.
     
  8. reden macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2006
    #8
    Yeah, on second thought this might be different. My Mac Pro plays that video very choppy as well, in VLC it works great.
     
  9. viltsu macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2007
  10. MRU macrumors demi-god

    MRU

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2005
    Location:
    Ireland
    #10
    To isolate the issue if there is one specific to model, it would be better if people posted their mac pro or other specs instead of just saying no problem or same here.


    Played smooth in VLC on both my

    MacPro 2.6 X1900XT 11GB DDR
    MacBookAir 1.6 X3100 2GB DDR

    Played smooth (occasional 1 dropped frame) on the mac pro in Quicktime
    Played choppily on the MBA - Quicktime
     
  11. supercooled macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2007
    #11
    No luck with QT here as well. Stopped about 10 seconds in. VLC ran perfectly.

    Why is it a 3rd party application can run it just fine and Apple's own software can't? They should be ashamed.
     
  12. MRU macrumors demi-god

    MRU

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2005
    Location:
    Ireland
    #12
    I agree with you. Quality control software wise in the last year is the pits IMHO.

    Quicktime seems to be turning to bloatware and is getting performance reductions everytime they update it lately.

    iDVD 08 still has awful bugs in comparison to all the other iDVD's

    10.5.2 and the ACL permission error problem that has seemingly appeared on all my macs updated to it.


    Apple is always quick to remind us they are a software company... Now I think it's time someone reminds Apple that too :eek:
     
  13. pastrychef macrumors 601

    pastrychef

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2006
    Location:
    New York City, NY
    #13
    It played smooth as silk for me in QuickTime. My system specs:

    1st Gen Mac Pro 3GHz (4 cores total)
    ATI X1900 connected to Dell 30" monitor
    Tiger 10.4.11
     
  14. Wild-Bill macrumors 68030

    Wild-Bill

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2007
    Location:
    bleep
    #14
    I couldn't agree more. And their quality control is failing on ALL fronts, not just software. If they have people reading the forums here, they should report back that there have been many a comment on how they need to take that 14 billion in cash they're sitting on and invest it in quality control, company-wide, ASAP.

    Everything has suffered because of that damn iPhone. Take some more of that 14 billion and establish a dedicated iPhone team, Apple, so you're not robbing other departments of resources.
     
  15. Loge macrumors 68020

    Loge

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2004
    Location:
    England
    #15
    I don't have a Mac Pro (yet :p) but on my MBP, I could only get around 9 fps on that file in QT, no probs in VLC.

    If I re-encode it in Visual Hub (mp4 tab, h.264 checked) it plays back smoothly in QT with no problem. :confused:
     
  16. dukeblue91 macrumors 65816

    dukeblue91

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2004
    Location:
    Raleigh, NC
    #16
    That's an easy fix, just download the update combo and reinstall.
    I just did that and it fixed the ACL permission errors and some other quirks.
     
  17. lightwavejunkie macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2008
    #17
    Smooth as Silk in Quicktime on my mac pro Quad Core 2.66ghz with 9GB ram and leopard 10.5.2
     
  18. dukeblue91 macrumors 65816

    dukeblue91

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2004
    Location:
    Raleigh, NC
    #18
    Smooth as can be in Quicktime on a new 2.8 quad with 8 gig of ram. and ATI 2600 XT card.
    I did install Perian and flip4mac if that should make a difference.
     
  19. walnuts macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2007
    Location:
    Brooklyn, NY
    #19
    Granted not a mac pro, but I have the same symptoms- it runs perfectly in VLC and is essentially not viewable with quicktime

    iMac 2.33 ghz c2d
    2 gb ram
    NVIDIA GeForce 7600 GT with 256 MB ram
     
  20. Topper macrumors 65816

    Topper

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2007
    #20
    Okay, so explain this one...

    It runs smoothly with QT Pro on my PowerMac G5 dual 2.0GHz.
    4 GB of memory.
    ATI Radeon X800 XT.
    Sony 21 inch CRT set at 1152 x 870.
     
  21. LeKiD macrumors regular

    LeKiD

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2007
    #21
    For 1280x720 (720p) video at 24-30 frames per second:
    1.8 GHz PowerMac G5 or faster Macintosh computer
    At least 256 MB of RAM
    64 MB or greater video card

    For 1920x1080 (1080p) video at 24-30 frames per second:
    Dual 2.0 GHz PowerMac G5 or faster Macintosh computer
    At least 512 MB of RAM
    128 MB or greater video card

    If it doesn't... it's weird. Check your quicktime config.
     
  22. Just sayin... macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2008
    #22
    Quicktime on my 2.8X8/8800/10GB mp pegged one CPU (obviously single threaded app) and the video became choppy. Activity monitor showed its' use at 103%.

    VLC, while obviously a single threaded app as well, maxed out at about 56% CPU and played "smooth as butter."

    Looks like Apple needs to either use better CODEC's, further optimize their code, or re-write their app to take advantage of the fact that most of us have >1 cores available. Either way, that Quicktime performance is unacceptable.
     
  23. 4God macrumors 68020

    4God

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2005
    Location:
    My Mac
    #23
    Same here. I'm on a MacPro (early 2008) 2.8x8/2600HD/6GB and using Quicktime Pro it ran sluggish and minor choppiness. VLC was also smooth as butter for me.
     
  24. Applespider macrumors G4

    Applespider

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2004
    Location:
    looking through rose-tinted spectacles...
    #24
    Played perfectly on my 24" Al iMac, 2.4Ghz and 4GB RAM, in QT Pro

    Don't think I'll be watching the movie though :p
     
  25. JSchwage macrumors 6502a

    JSchwage

    Joined:
    May 5, 2006
    Location:
    Rochester, NY
    #25
    Now here's the funny thing. It runs as smooth as butter on my MacBook with GMA 950 integrated graphics. :eek:

    I don't think it's a Quicktime problem. I'm guessing it's something to do with certain video drivers.
     

Share This Page