Can aplle softraid support 2 arrays?

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by johnsosn, Aug 6, 2009.

  1. johnsosn macrumors member

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2009
    #1
    As Title.
    I'd like to try it but I don't want to risk my existing array.
    Regards
    Simon
     
  2. UltraNEO* macrumors 601

    UltraNEO*

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2007
    Location:
    近畿日本
    #2
    You mean

    Bay1 + Bay2 = Array 1
    Bay3 + Bay4 = Array 2

    ??
     
  3. johnsosn thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2009
    #3
    Yes. Or using the extra optical bay and sata ports for one array (ssd) and bays 1-4 for another array (normal hdd).

    Simon
     
  4. Tesselator macrumors 601

    Tesselator

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2008
    Location:
    Japan
    #4
    Yup, or even mix and match.

    3 drive array A = Bay1, Bay2, ODB1.
    2 drive array B = Bay3, ODB2.
    3 drive array C = Bay4, IDE1, IDE2.


    etc.

    And more than 2 arrays are possible too. :)
     
  5. johnsosn thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2009
    #5
    Excellent. That's what I was hoping to hear.

    Thanks

    Simon
     
  6. gugucom macrumors 68020

    gugucom

    Joined:
    May 21, 2009
    Location:
    Munich, Germany
    #6
    Where it gets tricky is when you run native Windows or partition drives.
     
  7. johnsosn thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2009
    #7
    O.K. Thanks.
    I will try to avoid these situations then.
    Simon
     
  8. Tesselator macrumors 601

    Tesselator

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2008
    Location:
    Japan
  9. gugucom macrumors 68020

    gugucom

    Joined:
    May 21, 2009
    Location:
    Munich, Germany
    #9
    I'll do this when Steve gives me decent Blu-Ray support. :p

    And gamers will not drop it unless they get anything that beats DirectX.
     
  10. Tesselator macrumors 601

    Tesselator

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2008
    Location:
    Japan
  11. TheSilencer macrumors regular

    Joined:
    May 27, 2007
    #11
    OpenGL 3.x? It has the same functionality as DirectX 5 to 11 (10.1) including Shader 4.x support.

    That´s just an marketing thing, not a technical thing. I´m looking forward to "Rage" of id Software which will run OGL (Mac OS X) native and not crappy Cidered but the Windows version will run DirectX (afaik) so we can compare it.
     
  12. DoFoT9 macrumors P6

    DoFoT9

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2007
    Location:
    Singapore
    #12
    looks like it COULD be coming in iTunes 9, im really excited :):) it better be functional
     
  13. gugucom macrumors 68020

    gugucom

    Joined:
    May 21, 2009
    Location:
    Munich, Germany
    #13
    So many false alarms. Apple see BD as competition to their online business.
     
  14. nanofrog macrumors G4

    Joined:
    May 6, 2008
    #14
    Blu-Ray licensing has just changed, and is more attractive now. So it may finally happen this time. :)
     
  15. gugucom macrumors 68020

    gugucom

    Joined:
    May 21, 2009
    Location:
    Munich, Germany
    #15
    I would not mind one bit. But the licensing change was in May! It would make sense though to start the option with the iMac. The will not need a 9mm trayless drive there. I#m not even sure such a thing (as required for MBP) would even exist. Once they have it running on the iMac it will automatically work with the Mac Pro.
     
  16. nanofrog macrumors G4

    Joined:
    May 6, 2008
    #16
    You know what I meant. ;) May's not that far back. :p

    I'd think they'd start with the MP first, at least as a test bed, since the drives are readily available. Worst case, they can get the software/hardware sorted out now, and and wait for a simultaneous deployment. Perhaps the OS would get it in an update, and those with the hardware could go ahead and benefit (IIRC, they've already been including the necessary hardware in some of the systems, but I can't recall which ones do or don't have it).
     
  17. DoFoT9 macrumors P6

    DoFoT9

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2007
    Location:
    Singapore
    #17
    true, but their online business has CRAP quality as far as HD videos go. they are ok for 720p systems but IMO you can really see the difference between them and a full BR movie.

    the Uni-body MBPs no longer use 9.5mm drives, they are now 12.5mm drives. that might mean that they are designing for a change to BR slot loading (you're right, there are no 9.5mm BR slot-loading drives readily available).
     
  18. gugucom macrumors 68020

    gugucom

    Joined:
    May 21, 2009
    Location:
    Munich, Germany
    #18
    true, but :apple: probably do not care if their customers are not getting the best quality
     
  19. DoFoT9 macrumors P6

    DoFoT9

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2007
    Location:
    Singapore
    #19
    good point, the quality is not TOO bad - they source their videos from really high quality originals probably, a 4-5Mb/s rip is probably more equivalent to a BR 10mb/s rip, they have a tad more colour and better clarity sometimes..

    they cant ignore it forever.
     
  20. nanofrog macrumors G4

    Joined:
    May 6, 2008
    #20
    Meh... Apple's on the Blu-ray Disc Association board, so they're covering themselves both ways. Online content is still stymied by slow connection speeds in different countries. 6 - 8 Mb/s is just too slow, and not everyone has that. 768Kb/s to 1.5Mb/s is more common, as the distances are too far to hit anything higher, and that's with ADSL2.
     

Share This Page