Can apple genius' clone hard drives? [getting replacement iMac]

Discussion in 'iMac' started by amt2002, Oct 10, 2010.

  1. amt2002 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2008
    #1
    My 3-week old 27" iMac is making annoying whistling sound when on anything other than full brightness so I'm taking it back to store for replacement.

    My question is: I've spent ages installing everything (Inc windows 7) and would hate to have to do fresh installs. Can genius' do a direct clone of the HDD's in store while I wait? Will windows 7 and my games still work ok ?
     
  2. robbieduncan Moderator emeritus

    robbieduncan

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2002
    Location:
    London
    #2
    I don't know if they have the software tools to clone a drive including a Windows partition. They might swap the drive from the current machine to the new one (I assume they have agreed to a machine swap?) if you ask them very nicely.
     
  3. applemike macrumors 6502

    applemike

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2008
    #3
    Best option. buy a new HDD online, and then swap out the new one with your current one.

    Take it back, then put your HDD in. sell the HDD it came with for a profit. everyones happy.
     
  4. dborja macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2007
    Location:
    Northern California
    #4
    Consider getting an external drive and using SuperDuper to clone your drive before taking in your iMac...
     
  5. old-wiz macrumors G3

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2008
    Location:
    West Suburban Boston Ma
    #5
    SuperDuper won't clone the windows partition.
     
  6. sushi Moderator emeritus

    sushi

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2002
    Location:
    キャンプスワ&#
    #6
    This would be the easiest solution if the Apple store will do it.

    This would necessitate opening up the current iMac and then the replacement iMac. Might not be the easiest thing to do if you are not comfortable doing this type of thing. YMMV.

    :::::

    I would suggest this plan of action:

    1. Purchase an external HDD that is the same size or bigger than your current internal HDD. Note, bigger is always better and allows you to do backups later on.

    2. Using Carbon Copy Cloner, clone you Mac partition. You will need to format the external HDD using the GUID partition scheme. Once done, make sure that you can boot from your external HDD. Assuming that you can, proceed with step 3.

    3. Use WinClone to clone the Windows partition. It will create an image. Store the image on your external HDD and not the internal HDD.

    4. Boot to the external HDD and then using Disk Utilities do a secure erase of your Internal HDD.

    5. Shut down the iMac.

    6. Remove the external HDD.

    7. Boot your iMac using the restore DVD that came with your iMac. Install (restore) the system.

    When you receive your replacement iMac, to the process in reverse.

    1. Connect your external HDD and boot from it.

    2. Erase your internal HDD.

    3. Using Carbon Copy Cloner clone from the external to the internal HDD.

    4. Using WinClone, restore your Bootcamp partition.

    Note, if you store your WinClone image, which will be a little bigger than your Windows partition, on your external HDD, and there isn't enough space remaining on your internal HDD for the partition, you may nee to delete the image from your internal HDD (it will still be on your external HDD), and then use the WinClone to restore from the image on the external HDD.

    Note, it's late here, so if you have any questions, please respond here and I will check tomorrow.

    EDIT:

    Regarding WinClone:
    • I've had good luck with Windows XP (32 bit).
    • Others I know have tried it with Windows 7 and it worked okay. Not sure if it was 32 or 64 bit versions.
    • As of July 2010, it looks like it has been discontinued which is sad to see. The latest version is 2.2 which you can still download.

    YMMV.
     
  7. was2aks macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009
    Location:
    USA St. Louis, MO
    #7
    Replacement iMac Cloned Hard Drive

    My related question is regarding what happens if you use Superduper to clone your existing iMac HDD, but the replacement iMac is a slightly newer version as is my case. I'm getting my late 2009 2.8Ghz iMac replaced with a current mid 2010 2.93Ghz iMac. I have cloned the drive with SD and secure erased the iMac's HDD. I understand the new iMac's system software may be slightly different so what happens when I try to use Superduper to restore the previous version OS? Will the new iMac start up and/or give me errors that I can fix via SU?
     
  8. Consultant macrumors G5

    Consultant

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2007
    #8
    You are responsible for your own data.

    WinClone will backup windows partition (works with xp, some people say it won't work with win 64 bit)
     
  9. arsene macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2010

Share This Page