Can apps run in background even if I disable Background App refresh in setting?

Discussion in 'iOS 9' started by striders, Nov 6, 2015.

  1. striders macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2009
    #1
    I noticed that the Amazon app ran in the background for quite sometime. I checked in Settings -> General -> Background App refresh and it is disabled for Amazon.

    Is there a way to disable this completely, or app can just bypass this setting?
     
  2. Yun0 macrumors 65816

    Yun0

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2013
    Location:
    Winnipeg, Canada
    #3
    yes they can, yes its dumb, yes app devs can exploit it (*cough* facebook lol *cough*), yes apple will probably eventually make it more strict some time
     
  3. Aston441 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2014
    #4
    I'm totally not understanding what that option does at all. It seems to make no difference whatsoever as to whether or not apps continue running in the background. The ones I want to run quit anyway, and the ones I don't want running just do whatever they please.
     
  4. Yun0 macrumors 65816

    Yun0

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2013
    Location:
    Winnipeg, Canada
    #5
    its for letting apps like twitter or stocks for example, when u check back later, to already be displaying the latest data available rather than doing their 2 or 5 or whatever second, refresh load after opening them again to update their data

    voip apps get to bypass it cause voip has to be in a semi running connected state to accept live calls etc, music apps get to bypass it cause having ur music quit 5 seconds after exiting the app wouldnt fly well with users
     
  5. striders thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2009
    #6
    Thanks for the info, guys! Strange that the thread posted by C DM didn't show up when I searched for it using Tapatalk.
     
  6. mulatosnarf macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2015

Share This Page