Can Dreamweaver layout Javascript/Ajax in Tables?

Discussion in 'Web Design and Development' started by Dal123, Jul 11, 2009.

1. Dal123 macrumors 6502a

Dal123

I have a slideshow formatted from google ajax feed Api in my webpage, I am just considering how to layout the slideshow. At the moment it is aligned to the left.
    I am considering centring it or maybe 25% to the left or something like that. Anyway I am just wondering if I could place two table's ontop of each other and set one as a percentage (Like I have done with my logo)?

2. angelwatt Moderator emeritus

angelwatt

I'm not following that question very well.

3. Dal123 thread starter macrumors 6502a

Dal123

As you know angelwatt; I am a complete novice at this webdesign, so I went on ebay and bought a training Dreamweaver DVD. It was quite handy:
    It showed a couple of different methods to centre a logo (or whatever) onto a webpage whilst still maintaining it's resolution (Not changing its size) just centre it on the page.
    I drew a table, set its percentage to 100%, then placed another table ontop of it, with the logo in it at its resolution (about 900 pixels I think). There may have been a bit more tinkering as it was about a month ago I did it, but it worked: as you resize the page it stays in the centre, the picture/ logo does not resize. It just centres on the page. I'm not very good at explaining things as you can see :D

4. Dal123 thread starter macrumors 6502a

Dal123

Old Methods

I see now that what I did with the tables is old methods, the better way to do this is CSS. I now need to learn this :eek: Gonna take some time :(.

5. Dal123 thread starter macrumors 6502a

Dal123

So is Dreamweaver a Waste Of Time?

When I first started to design my website I thought 'Great, Dreamweaver basically does everything for me' after a basic couple of images I now discover that the design view does no longer work, also noticing that it works in old methods i.e. tables ontop of each other.