Can early-2011 MacBook Pro 13" handle 1600 RAM?

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by alexjholland, Jan 25, 2017.

  1. alexjholland macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    May 3, 2011
    #1
    Hey, I have an early-2011 MacBook Pro 13" with an i5 processor.

    Can I use 1600 Mhz RAM?

    I've made many reports suggesting the 15" early 2011 can use 1600 and the late 2011 13".

    I've read conflicting reports on the early-2011 MacBook Pro 13" i5 though.

    I'm ordering 16GB.
     
  2. keysofanxiety macrumors 604

    keysofanxiety

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2011
    #2
    Nope, just stick with 1333MHz. I'd stick to that on any 2011 Mac. Best case scenario, even if it works you won't see any real-world performance benefit.
     
  3. tubeexperience macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2016
  4. MBP_187 macrumors member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2016
    Location:
    Dhaka, Bangladesh
    #4
    Hi alexjholland,

    I am using a similar MBP (late 2011, 13' i5). Recently I wanted to upgrade the RAM (from 4Gb) to 16Gb, but was not finding any 1333Mhz RAM locally.

    I read on this forum that it supports 1600 Mhz, but kept on looking for a long time in the local market for 1333 Mhz, 8 Gb RAM.

    Finally, last week I tried out the 1600 Mhz RAM ( 2 sticks of 8Gb = 16 Gb).

    I am happy to report that I am not having any problems what so ever with my MBP.I am running Yosemite.

    Good Luck :)
     
  5. ls1dreams macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2009
    #5
    I'm using 1333mhz / 1.5v memory with mine - so it doesn't seem too picky about the 1.35v memory. (Though it could just mean I have high quality ram that can handle the low voltages well)
     
  6. d0nK, Jan 25, 2017
    Last edited: Jan 25, 2017

    d0nK macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2011
    Location:
    UK
    #6
    Google the processor in your mbp.
    The Intel i5's and i7's in the upgraded BTO mbp's from 2011 actually do support 1600MHz ram, but the base models do not.

    If you use 1600MHz ram with an i5/i7 that does not support 1600MHz, then it is up to the motherboard to either underclock it to 1333MHz or not work at all.
     
  7. alexjholland thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    May 3, 2011
    #7
    Hey, mine's the 2.3 Ghz. What were the BTO options?

    Am I right in thinking mine's the base model? And therefore, I cannot use 1600?
     
  8. alexjholland thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    May 3, 2011
  9. d0nK macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2011
    Location:
    UK
    #9
    http://www.everymac.com/systems/by_year/macs-released-in-2011.html

    http://ark.intel.com/products/53449/Intel-Core-i5-2415M-Processor-3M-Cache-up-to-2_90-GHz

    So, for your mbp to actually work with 1600MHz memory, the motherboard will have to automatically underclock it for your processor. That other person with the same model mbp as yours, with 1600MHz ram, kinda proves that the motherboard will underclock it for you.

    Fair enough, but I would still get 1333MHz ram if possible.
     
  10. ZapNZs macrumors 68000

    ZapNZs

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2017
    #10
  11. alexjholland thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    May 3, 2011
    #11
    Unfortunately both those numbers gave me sales agents reading autocues, that were of no more benefit than using their website.

    I'm leaning towards returning this 1600 RAM and getting some 1333.
     
  12. alexjholland thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    May 3, 2011
    #12
    For the tiny benefit I MIGHT get, I decided to play it safe and have ordered the 1333 and returned the 1600.
     
  13. MBP_187 macrumors member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2016
    Location:
    Dhaka, Bangladesh
    #13
    I am using 1600 MHz RAM without any problems. As I mentioned in my first post, I was looking for 1333 MHz RAM locally, but was unable to find any, so I purchased the 1600 MHz RAM.

    I'm a 'layman' and not that technical, so I do not really know/understand the 'underclocking' issue that was mentioned in the thread earlier.

    Good Luck
     
  14. alexjholland thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    May 3, 2011
    #14
    Yeah it seems to show up as 1600, it's just that others seem to question if it runs at 1600?
     
  15. MBP_187 macrumors member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2016
    Location:
    Dhaka, Bangladesh
    #15
    Well for me, as long as it works as increased RAM properly, I'm ok...regardless of speed.
     
  16. MBP_187, Feb 9, 2017
    Last edited: Feb 9, 2017
  17. chipchen macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2002
    #17
    It actually depends on the RAM. Some RAM clocks down just fine and others don't. Best thing to do is to check the reviews when you purchase, see if someone mentions their exact model. (On Amazon this is easy because they have so many reviews.)
     

Share This Page