Can Excel with VBA be run on iPad?

Discussion in 'iPad' started by mikezang, Jun 3, 2010.

  1. mikezang macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    May 22, 2010
    Location:
    Tokyo, Japan
    #1
    I have a excel file with VBA macro, this file access Internet to download data and plot a chart.

    I want to know if it can be run on iPad?
     
  2. Mike Reed macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2010
    Location:
    Columbus, OH
    #2
    It won't run on the iPad itself. If you have already opened it on a computer and it already pulled the data in it might open with a view of the cached data though.
     
  3. mikezang thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    May 22, 2010
    Location:
    Tokyo, Japan
    #3
    Can you explain it for me in detail?

    What can I do?
     
  4. Mike Reed macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2010
    Location:
    Columbus, OH
    #4
    I just meant that if you already ran the import on your PC or Mac and then saved it, when you try to open it up on your iPad it might be able to show you the information it already pulled in. It won't run the macro stuff on the iPad, but it could show you what's already been imported.

    I think excel stores a cache of data generated by vlookups, so perhaps it works the same way with the method you are using pull in data. I couldn't say for sure though since I haven't tried that myself.
     
  5. ReallyBigFeet macrumors 68030

    ReallyBigFeet

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2010
    #5
    Excel VBA macros won't even work on the Mac version of Office 2008. So while you could likely get the template of the XLS file itself to load up inside of Pages on the Mac and then transfer it to Pages on the iPad, your macros will be dead.

    As of Office 2008 for the Mac, Microsoft dropped VBA support altogether.
     
  6. PBG4 Dude macrumors 68020

    PBG4 Dude

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2007
    #6
    MS is bringing VBA back in the next version of Mac Office though.
     
  7. ReallyBigFeet macrumors 68030

    ReallyBigFeet

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2010
    #7
    Yes, but they've been quoted as saying that VBA support for Office Mac 2010 may only match that of Office Windows 2004 edition....hardly something to hang much hope on IMO.

    I still think the answer here is " No VBA macro support on iPad." Pages is far too lightweight to handle anything of the sort.
     

Share This Page