Can google detect virus/spyware?

Discussion in 'Mac Apps and Mac App Store' started by kindablue09, Mar 31, 2009.

  1. kindablue09 macrumors regular

    kindablue09

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2009
    #1
    Whenever I try to access google through Firefox (but not Safari) I get a message saying that I have virus/spyware on my computer and google doesn't want me. I only run os 10.5.6. Is it possible for me to have a virus that google can detect? How should I look into this?
     
  2. ElectroGhandi macrumors regular

    ElectroGhandi

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2009
    Location:
    Baltimore, MD
    #2
    Post a screenshot, please. Command+Shift+3
     
  3. kindablue09 thread starter macrumors regular

    kindablue09

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2009
    #3
    Here it is, although I should mention I run an ad block add on. Although I disabled it & the problem still subsisted.


    Picture 1.png
     
  4. r.j.s Moderator emeritus

    r.j.s

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2007
    Location:
    Texas
    #4
    No, Google is just telling you that your search looks like an automated one they see a lot. I've had it happen before, and usually, just hitting back and searching again will give you your results.
     
  5. Consultant macrumors G5

    Consultant

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2007
    #5
    You probably installed something in firefox that messed it up or some kind of redirect to a fake antivirus page.

    Use Safari.

    THERE ARE NO VIRUSES on OSX.

    Since there are no viruses, anti-virus cannot determine what is a virus at this time.

    Giz Explains: Why OS X Shrugs Off Viruses Better Than Windows
    http://i.gizmodo.com/5101337/giz-explains-why-os-x-shrugs-off-viruses-better-than-windows

    The Mac Malware Myth
    http://www.roughlydrafted.com/2009/01/29/the-mac-malware-myth/

    The Unavoidable Malware Myth
    http://www.roughlydrafted.com/2008/...-apple-wont-inherit-microsofts-malware-crown/

    Road to Mac OS X Snow Leopard: 64-bit security
    http://www.appleinsider.com/articles/09/01/16/road_to_mac_os_x_snow_leopard_64_bit_security.html
     
  6. angelwatt Moderator emeritus

    angelwatt

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    Location:
    USA
    #6
    Make sure to check your home page settings (assuming your home page is Google). Perhaps a web site changed it for you.
     
  7. A La Fizzykil macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2009
    #7
    This usually happens when, as mentioned above, your homepage gets changed where it is routing you through a different site, like a proxy, then to google.

    Using a proxy, like hidemyass.com, will usually generate this error in Google as well.
     
  8. kindablue09 thread starter macrumors regular

    kindablue09

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2009
    #8
    Found It!

    Thanks all for the advice. Turns out it was my school's network that Google didn't like. My school's IT claims it has something to do with preparing for tomorrow's conflicker scare. Google apparently read something about our network that looked like viral/spyware to it.

    Makes me glad I use a mac.
     

Share This Page