Can I add more than the "allowed" RAM?

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by ziggyonice, Jan 17, 2009.

  1. ziggyonice macrumors 68020

    ziggyonice

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2006
    Location:
    Rural America
    #1
    First off, I'm using an older MacBook Pro (first generation, Intel Core Duo), and the maximum amount of RAM is 2GB DDR2. I'm wondering if I can bump it up to 3GB, even if this meant sacrificing dual channel access.

    I've read a little bit online, but haven't found a straight answer. Any thoughts? Thanks.
     
  2. juanster macrumors 68020

    juanster

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2007
    Location:
    toronto
    #2
    you can, but it won't be recognized... so it will just chill there on its own
     
  3. ziggyonice thread starter macrumors 68020

    ziggyonice

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2006
    Location:
    Rural America
    #3
    Well that sucks. Guess I'll just keep my 2x1GB sticks...
     
  4. MarkMS macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2006
    #4
    Like Juanster said, you can but it won't do you any good. Now, if you had the early Core 2 Duo MBPs that max out at 3GB, then going to 4GB would do you some good since it would be able to recognize ~3.3GB instead of just the 3GB alone.
     
  5. alphaod macrumors Core

    alphaod

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2008
    Location:
    NYC
    #5
    The Core Duo MBPs are physically 2GB max I believe.
     

Share This Page