Can I add SSD to the latest 27"?

Discussion in 'iMac' started by littlehuman, Oct 26, 2015.

  1. littlehuman macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2010
    #1
    Hi,

    I'm sure this question has been covered before, but I could not get an answer. I've talked to representative on store.apple.com, but they just have no idea.

    I'm thinking about buying late 2015 27" iMac 5k.

    If I buy the most basic model, am I going to be able to replace the base hdd (7200 rpm 1tb hdd) to my own ssd?
     
  2. monokakata macrumors 68000

    monokakata

    Joined:
    May 8, 2008
    Location:
    Hilo, Hawai'i
    #2
    I believe the answer is "in theory, yes" but in practice it appears to be very difficult. This is because it's no longer easy to get into the case. Before the glued-together model, it wasn't all that difficult. Now it is.

    You could check out iFixit and see what they show.
     
  3. littlehuman thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2010
    #3
    Thank you monokakata.

    The problem is that there is no teardown of the new 27" imac with 5k yet.

    I asked a few places, but no one knows.
     
  4. theosg macrumors newbie

    theosg

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2015
    Location:
    Bay Area
    #4
    You'd need to remove the iMac screen for that...

    Here is the overview of the process for replacing your HDD with SSD:
    1. iFixit: read guide, price tools and replacement adhesive strips
    2. Shop for SSD: Amazon, OWC (macsales.com), etc. Look at prices, add to cart.
    3. Think about: how mush you paid for the iMac, how you'll be voiding your warranty, how you might screw up
    (even though you're comfortable building and fixing all sorts of computers and electronics)
    4. Wish that access panel on the rear were Way Bigger.
    5. Give up and have a beer/coke/cigarette/donut.
    6. Repeat
     
  5. monokakata macrumors 68000

    monokakata

    Joined:
    May 8, 2008
    Location:
    Hilo, Hawai'i
    #5
    I don't think the case/chassis has changed from the previous version, at least in what counts -- like whether you can get into it or not. I've disassembled maybe 6 or 8 iMacs of various vintages, to swap out drives, and none of them were very hard to do. I have a retina iMac and I would never try it. Just too difficult.
     
  6. littlehuman thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2010
    #8
    Thank you theosg, but again...that's not the latest model. It sounds like things have changed.
     
  7. littlehuman thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2010
    #9
    It's my first time thinking about doing it..not sure if I just should go with ssd option..
     
  8. Sirmausalot macrumors 6502a

    Sirmausalot

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2007
    #10
    There are two teardown: one on iFixit and one from OWC. In theory, it is possible. In practice, it is impractical for a number of reasons, some outlined above. Follow this link :) http://******.com/?q=teardown+imac+5k+late+2015&l=1

    The best budget solution is the 2TB Fusion. Read the threads as to why.
     
  9. theosg macrumors newbie

    theosg

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2015
    Location:
    Bay Area
    #11
    The OWC link is the LATE 2015 Retina iMac.
    If you compare that with the iFixit, as I have, you'll note that the difference in process for opening, swapping the drives, and closing is negligible. The process is also daunting because the screen is what makes this computer anything worth remarking about let alone buying. I'm not cracking mine open until the Applecare is expired, if at all.
     
  10. littlehuman thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2010
    #12
    Thank you for the link :)
     
  11. littlehuman thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2010
    #13
    Thank you theosg. Just googled and watched the previous version of 27" imac teardown. It looks pretty simple and easy, but I'm not sure if ifixit.com's cohesive tape is compatible to the latest version (it's not listed).

    I guess I will wait for a couple of weeks and then decide. 512GB ssd for $500 is just ridiculous.
     
  12. AntnyMikal macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2012
    #14
    I've looked into doing this as well, and with BlackFriday around the corner I know there'll be some great deals on SSD. I've done much more difficult jobs than this, but after all my looking around I'm thinking I won't see a real difference from just running an external SSD. I'd like to take that 1Tb hdd out though and throw it at my ps4 or xb1 since I wouldn't be using it in the Mac anyway.
    Decisions decisions.
     
  13. ucfgrad93 macrumors P6

    ucfgrad93

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2007
    Location:
    Colorado
    #15
    I'd go with the ssd option. No way would I try and change it myself.
     
  14. Kappsi macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2015
    #16
    Surprisingly, this year it's actually not a ridiculous price. The thing to keep in mind is that now with the new SSDs they use that reach ~1800-2000 MB/s, $1/GB is actually about the same as you'd pay to buy it elsewhere. If it was just a standard SATA3 SSD that hits 500-600 MB/s like all the others, I'd agree, but in this case it's actually a fair price (assuming you care about the extra performance of course).
     
  15. littlehuman thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2010
    #17
    I don't really know if a regular user would notice any performance increase with that.

    In my particular use case, I don't expect noticeable performance increase.

    1. Programming: 4k write isn't that much improved. Compile time depends on the CPU heavily. 500MB is more than enough.

    2. RAW photo file edit: usually raw file is between 40mb ~ 80mb. 500mb is more than enough.

    3. Gaming: Not sure where people would use 1800~2000mb. It surely would be faster, but it would load just a slightly faster..

    Please someone enlighten me on this..if I know it wrong.
     
  16. hifimacianer macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2015
    Location:
    Germany
    #18
    I think the higher speeds will be relevant if you have larger Lightroom/Capture One pro catalogues that have to be loaded if you start the app.

    And in general everyone has to think about future too. When I bought my 2008 iMac with it's 7200rpm drive the speed was good for all of my tasks. But after 3-4 years everything felt slow and stuttering. The OS was more demanding, Apps were more demanding, files were getting bigger etc.

    Then I replaced the HD with a SSD, and my iMac was like a brand new machine! And it might be that this will happen again. No one knows what kind of files we will process in 2-3 years, or how demanding the OS and Apps will be.
     
  17. surf2snow1 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2008
    #19
    FYI I was thinking about doing this. Then returned and ordered a 512.

    Anyway, the two AASP companies I called both wanted $600 to replace the existing HDD with a 1TB SSD (one was Samsung, the other crucial). For $1000, they would install a 2TB SSD.
     
  18. maflynn Moderator

    maflynn

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2009
    Location:
    Boston
    #20
    I looked at the iFixit tear down, and man all I can say is Apple when the extra mile to make sure the iMac is sealed tight. If I get an iMac, I'll not be opening it up. The risk of damaging it is to high for me :(
     

Share This Page