Can I back up my Windows drive on My Passport?

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by ozreth, May 10, 2010.

  1. ozreth macrumors 65816

    ozreth

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2009
    #1
    Heya! I would like to also use my WD My Passport to backup my windows drive as well as OSX. Any way to do this?

    Thanks : )
     
  2. Eddyisgreat macrumors 601

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2007
    #2
    Winclone*
    *I have not used this solution myself but I've heard it works pretty good. I utilize the built in Windows Backup to a network share.
     
  3. scottness macrumors 65816

    scottness

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2009
    Location:
    Room 101
  4. ozreth thread starter macrumors 65816

    ozreth

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2009
    #4
    Thanks for the responses guys, but my trouble is that I have an external that is formatted for macs. Gotta figure out a way to make windows access it.
     
  5. scottness macrumors 65816

    scottness

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2009
    Location:
    Room 101
    #5
    You can partition it. One partition is formatted for the mac, the other for windows. It will be recognized as two separate drives for your purposes.
     
  6. ozreth thread starter macrumors 65816

    ozreth

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2009
    #6
    Ohh gotcha. Not really sure how to partition an external drive?
     
  7. stridemat Moderator

    stridemat

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2008
    Location:
    UK
  8. ozreth thread starter macrumors 65816

    ozreth

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2009
  9. ozreth thread starter macrumors 65816

    ozreth

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2009
    #9
    Soo I have partitioned part of the drive as MS-DOS (Fat32) and Windows does not read the drive.

    Suggestions?

    Thanks for all of the help.
     
  10. stridemat Moderator

    stridemat

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2008
    Location:
    UK
    #10
    FAT 32 should work for both Windows and OS X. What size is the Windows partition?
     
  11. ozreth thread starter macrumors 65816

    ozreth

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2009
    #11
    150gb

    When I boot into Windows 7 and plug the external in, it reads my OSX half of it, just not the Windows half.

    Here is a screenshot:

    [​IMG]
     
  12. stridemat Moderator

    stridemat

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2008
    Location:
    UK
    #12
    Ok I think FAT 32 does not work with partitions greater than 32GB. If the partition is larger then it will need to be formatted as NTFS.
     
  13. ozreth thread starter macrumors 65816

    ozreth

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2009
    #13
    Ooh. NTFS wasn't an option. At least not via the OSX disc utility. Would I have to do this in Windows?
     
  14. stridemat Moderator

    stridemat

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2008
    Location:
    UK
    #14
    I guess if its not possible in OS X then it definitely should be possible within Windows. If you want to have access to the partition from within OS X you will need to instal some third party software, such as NTFS for Mac.
     
  15. ozreth thread starter macrumors 65816

    ozreth

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2009
    #15
    Alrighty. Thanks for all of your help, really appreciate it.
     
  16. cokeb macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2007
    #16
    FAT32 should work fine with partitions bigger than 32GB, but does Windows 7 understand the Apple Partition Map?
     
  17. ozreth thread starter macrumors 65816

    ozreth

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2009
    #17
    And we have another twist in the plot...
     

Share This Page