Can I boot WITHOUT mounting an internal drive?

Discussion in 'macOS' started by Mr Skills, Feb 10, 2008.

  1. Mr Skills macrumors 6502a

    Mr Skills

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2005
    #1
    I want to add an extra internal backup drive* to my mac pro, but I don't want it to mount on the desktop automatically. I would like to use Disk Utility to mount it only when I am going to backup/restore. Is this possible?

    *yes, I am aware of the importance of off-site backup. This is in case of mechanical failure :)
     
  2. MrT8064 macrumors 6502a

    MrT8064

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2006
    Location:
    UK
    #2
    as far as i know, it is not possible in any easy way, it is quite possible that there is a 3rd party app to manage mounting of disks, or perhaps some applescript
     
  3. moutian macrumors member

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2004
    Location:
    Detroit
    #3
    It seems we can only manually dismount after each boot.
     
  4. Mr Skills thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Mr Skills

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2005
  5. richard.mac macrumors 603

    richard.mac

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2007
    Location:
    51.50024, -0.12662
    #5
    you could use automator to make a workflow with a shell scrip that unmounts the disk and add it as a login item. the shell script would be something like

    Code:
    hdiutil unmount /Volumes/[I]name of disk[/I]
     
  6. Mr Skills thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Mr Skills

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2005
    #6
    Thanks! :)

    Will Automator quit automatically after running the action? Would it be easy to put this into something with less overhead - i.e. and AppleScript?
     
  7. Fearless Leader macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2006
    Location:
    Hoosiertown
    #7
    if its not mounted its still spinning and running isnt it?
     
  8. PlaceofDis macrumors Core

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2004
    #8
    i would think that it's spin down and park heads since it needs to be mounted before it can be accessed.
     

Share This Page