Can I burn the OS to CD?

Discussion in 'OS X Mountain Lion (10.8)' started by mbpmpb17, Aug 20, 2012.

  1. mbpmpb17 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2010
    #1
    I want to upgrade my laptops hard drive to a SSD.

    Is it possible to burn Lion (10.8) to CD so I can install the latest version the first time? (don't want to install and then upgrade the OS)
     
  2. Gav2k macrumors G3

    Gav2k

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2009
    #2
    Not to cd. You need a dual layer DVD or a large enough dongle
     
  3. ZacNicholson macrumors 6502a

    ZacNicholson

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2011
    Location:
    Indiana
    #3
    you can burn the dmg to a cd but you have to open it from the cd and run it. i burned the dmg to a cd and installed ml on my roommates computer
     
  4. mbpmpb17 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2010
    #4
    What do you mean you have to run in from the CD? If I burn it to a CD/DVD, then obviously I have to run it from there no?

    ----------

    I have a 2 year old MBP 17", does that have dual layer?
     
  5. Mr. Retrofire macrumors 601

    Mr. Retrofire

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2010
    Location:
    www.emiliana.cl/en
    #5
  6. mbpmpb17 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2010
    #6
  7. Julien macrumors G3

    Julien

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2007
    Location:
    Atlanta
    #7
    A CD is 700MB. How can you burn the ML 8GB DMG on that?:confused: Do you mean on 10 CD's?:eek:
     
  8. ivnj macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2006
  9. ZacNicholson macrumors 6502a

    ZacNicholson

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2011
    Location:
    Indiana
    #9
    i mean a DVD. and the dmg is only 4 gb if you you just burn the dmg
     
  10. eagandale4114 macrumors 65816

    eagandale4114

    Joined:
    May 20, 2011
    #10
  11. Richdmoore macrumors 65816

    Richdmoore

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2007
    Location:
    Troutdale, OR
    #11
  12. SlCKB0Y macrumors 68040

    SlCKB0Y

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2012
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    #12
    My assumption was that they want to burn a bootable DVD in which case they will need a dual layer one...
     
  13. mbpmpb17 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2010
    #13
  14. Antowns macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2009
    #14
    It takes a copy of the installation files from your Applications folder. No files are saved from the local installation of OS X.
     

Share This Page