Can I bypass the video card on a iMac?

Discussion in 'iMac' started by Milaf, Jul 10, 2012.

  1. Milaf macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2012
    #1
    Hello everybody,

    I am new here as a registered user, but I have been around as a quest for a while!
    Like many of you I am patiently waiting for the new iMac to come out.
    My early 2008 24" iMac as a bad video card, so I tried connecting it to a different monitor, but the video card just displays the same garbage on the other monitor, Is there a way to bypass the iMac video card so that I can use the other monitor (and my computer), until the new iMacs come out?

    Thanks for any help.
    Michel
     
  2. charlieegan3 macrumors 68020

    charlieegan3

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2012
    Location:
    U.K
    #2
    displays the same garbage? your video card is broken?
     
  3. Milaf thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2012
    #3
    Yes the video card is bad!

    Connecting my iMac to a seperate monitor was one of the ways I confirmed the problem was with a defective video card.

    Michel
     
  4. flatfoot macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2009
    #4
    There is no way to bypass the internal video card and use another one.
     
  5. Milaf thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2012
    #5
    OK! Thank you Flatfoot, that's what I wanted to know.

    I quess I'll have to suffer along with all the other people waiting for the new iMac's to come out.

    Let's hope it is in July...

    Michel
     
  6. AppleDApp macrumors 68020

    AppleDApp

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2011
    #6
    you need a video card to display an image. Unless you can rig an external GPU to your iMac (not possible) You will get the same image. Your GPU is faulty.
     
  7. omvs macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    May 15, 2011
    #7
  8. theSeb macrumors 604

    theSeb

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2010
    Location:
    Poole, England
    #8
    You cannot bypass the GPU for the internal monitor unfortunately.

    How does that USB out work? Surely it's still using your graphics card?

    Edit: Never mind. I see the USB devices are actually separate graphics cards, but connected via USB to the computer instead of PCIe. I've never bothered to look into this since it's so slow, but I guess it's better than not seeing a picture at all.
     
  9. marzer macrumors 65816

    marzer

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2009
    Location:
    Colorado
    #9
    A graphics card doesn't only drive the connected monitor, but performs all the graphical rendering regardless of the output device. The OS graphical interface relies heavily on the graphic card and the graphic card memory buffers. Without a properly working graphics card the OS is likely not functioning properly either. So I would doubt you will get screening sharing to work either if it is a malfunctioning video card.
     
  10. bogatyr macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2012
    #10
    You could search for a used video card board for your model iMac and replace your broken one.
     
  11. Nyy8 macrumors 6502a

    Nyy8

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2011
    Location:
    New England
    #11
    Sorry if I am being a bit of a noob, but doesn't every CPU come with a built in GPU on the CPU chip?
     
  12. theSeb macrumors 604

    theSeb

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2010
    Location:
    Poole, England
    #12
    Not every CPU has an integrated GPU.
     
  13. omvs macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    May 15, 2011
    #13
    Pretty sure no CPU's had an integrated GPU in 2008 (which is what the poster has).

    And even if the CPU does have one, the main board might not expose it. For example, it looks like the CPU in my iMac has a HD 3000 onboard, but only the ATI 6970 is hooked up to the ports...
     
  14. Milaf thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2012
    #14
    Thank's everybody for your imput.

    I tend to agree with marzer's response!
    I tried connecting the iMac to two different types of monitors, and nothing comes out differently than what I see on the iMac. And yes, other functions are affected also. The cursor does not appear on screen, so I move the mouse around until I see the icons in the dock grow bigger when I pass over them, and then I try to align myself with whatever I am trying to click on. It's a little bit like playing batteship in the dark!!!

    Anyway thanks for your help.

    Michel
     
  15. awer25 macrumors 65816

    awer25

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2011
    #15
    Is the GPU removable like the newer iMacs? Maybe you could get a new one?
     
  16. Rlnplehshalo macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2011
    #16
    By garbage do you mean the image somtimes burns into the screen but not really the actual screen more so the GPU? I have the same iMac and same problem:( For example when browsing the web on a white webpage I can see my desktop icons through it, I've tested this many times and it never goes away. I'll be building a custom PC in a few weeks anyway no more problems for me!
     
  17. Puevlo macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2011
    #17
    By garbage he means it still displays Mac OS X. The only way to get rid of this is to install Windows onto the computer.
     
  18. old-wiz macrumors G3

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2008
    Location:
    West Suburban Boston Ma
    #18
    If the video card is bad, how would installing Windows help?
     
  19. theSeb macrumors 604

    theSeb

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2010
    Location:
    Poole, England
    #19
    You're wasting your time on it.
     
  20. AuPhalanx macrumors regular

    AuPhalanx

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2004
    Location:
    Wilkes-Barre, PA
  21. Milaf thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2012
    #21
    Not exactly!
    By garbage I mean the desktop background image looks like a psychedelic version on crack, and there are also some patterns that appear that are not in the image. I dont know if I can post pictures, but if I can, then I could put up a picture.

    Michel
     
  22. Hirakata macrumors 6502

    Hirakata

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2011
    Location:
    Burbank, CA
    #22
    This is not entirely accurate in my recent experience. The 8600M died on my MBP. The MBP's display showed nothing and neither did connecting an external monitor. Apple Store confirmed the graphics card was dead. I was still able to screen share to the MBP and backup the HDD without a problem.
     
  23. Milaf thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2012
    #23
    Safe mode is the only way I can actually get to use the iMac, but only under all of the conditions I have mentioned before!


    Michel
     
  24. Milaf thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2012
    #24
    I believe it is possible.
    I have looked at a few videos of someone actually changing one, and you have to remove just about every component of the inside of the iMac to get to it. I've been told the price to have this done by a repair shop would be exorbitant!
    But if I can find a used card for cheap, I would like to attempt to do the job just for the fun of it, and maybe end up with a spare iMac.

    Michel
     
  25. strnbrg59 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2015
    Location:
    California
    #25
    Problem solved

     

Share This Page