Resolved can i change my processor ?

Discussion in 'Mac mini' started by jordanmeir, Dec 13, 2011.

  1. jordanmeir, Dec 13, 2011
    Last edited: Dec 13, 2011

    jordanmeir macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2011
    #1
    i have the mac mini 2010
    now i have the processor dual core and i want to upgrade it to i5 or i3 can i do it ??
     
  2. GGJstudios macrumors Westmere

    GGJstudios

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
  3. jordanmeir thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2011
    #3
    so how can i make my mac mini run faster ??
    i have 8GB ram
     
  4. GGJstudios macrumors Westmere

    GGJstudios

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    #4
    For performance issues, there are a few things you can check:
    • Check your Login Items under System Preferences > Accounts to see what you have automatically launching.
    • Also check /Library/LaunchAgents/ and /Users/yourusername/Library/LaunchAgents/ for items launching at startup
    • Look at what widgets you may have running.
    • Launch Activity Monitor and change "My Processes" at the top to "All Processes". Then look to see what may be consuming system resources.
    • Take a look at the System Memory tab at the bottom of Activity Monitor to see if you have excessive "page outs", a sign that you may benefit from more RAM.
    • Make sure you're not running any 3rd party antivirus app, as many of those will drain resources, reducing performance. They're not needed to protect your Mac.
     
  5. jordanmeir thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2011
    #5
    thank you...

    i have in the System Memory 1.21GB page outs... what this mean ?
     
  6. GGJstudios macrumors Westmere

    GGJstudios

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    #6
    Page outs are cumulative since your last restart. So restart your computer and track page outs under your normal workload (the apps, browser pages and documents you normally would have open). If your page outs are significant (say 1GB or more) under normal use, you may benefit from more RAM. However, your mini already has the maximum RAM that model can take, so adding more RAM is not an option.
     
  7. warvanov macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2011
    #7
    Basically, whenever the systems runs low on memory (RAM) it writes information to the hard drive to free up more memory. Writing to the hard drive if obviously slower then accessing RAM, so if the system is having to do this a lot then it could be slowing things down a lot.
     
  8. theSeb macrumors 604

    theSeb

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2010
    Location:
    Poole, England
    #8
    He could actually install another 8 by going with 8 GB sticks, but they are expensive. It does work though. Also the way I recommend to check page outs vs page ins is to check if the page outs are 10% or more of your page ins with normal use. Currently my page outs are 17 GB and my page ins are 9 GB.

    17 of 9 = 189% - clearly I would benefit from more RAM on my macbook air. :D
     
  9. GGJstudios, Dec 13, 2011
    Last edited: Dec 13, 2011

    GGJstudios macrumors Westmere

    GGJstudios

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    #9
    The maximum RAM on the 2010 Mac mini is 8GB. The 2011 models can handle 16GB.

    You can find specs on all Apple products, including maximum RAM:
    • By visiting EveryMac.com: Actual Maximum RAM
    • By using Mactracker
    • By entering your serial number here to find specs for your model. (Be aware that some models can use more RAM than Apple shows. Check EveryMac or MacTracker to verify.)
    There is no meaningful correlation between page outs and page ins. You will always have page ins, but you may not ever have page outs. Also, you can run for weeks or months, accumulating page ins, then go through a period of intense activity for only a few minutes which produces page outs. No ratio between the two is useful. The only thing that indicates a need for more RAM is the presence of significant page outs during normal workload, regardless of the page ins.
     
  10. 666sheep macrumors 68040

    666sheep

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2009
    Location:
    Poland
    #10
  11. GGJstudios macrumors Westmere

    GGJstudios

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    #11
    That poster didn't make it clear whether it simply recognized the 10GB or actually was using it. That's a common issue. For example, earlier Macs would recognize the presence of 4GB in System Profiler, but would only use 3GB. I don't know of any verified use of more than 8GB on the 2010 minis.
     
  12. 666sheep macrumors 68040

    666sheep

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2009
    Location:
    Poland
    #12
    ^^^Noticed that, but it's always a ray of hope for 2010 users. I'd test it myself if I'd have opportunity to borrow 8GB stick :)
     
  13. theSeb macrumors 604

    theSeb

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2010
    Location:
    Poole, England
    #13
    My bad. I had 2011 Mini in my head.

    ----------

    Sorry. Lack of reading skills on my side.
     
  14. mogwat macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2011
    #14
    Mac Mini pimp

    The other thing he can do is load up an SSD instead of the spinning platter
     
  15. jordanmeir thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2011

Share This Page