Can I clean install Snow Leopard without reinstalling tons of software?

Discussion in 'macOS' started by rickruss, Jun 14, 2010.

  1. rickruss macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2010
    #1
    If I put this in the wrong place, I am new to this forum so I apologize. I learn quickly.

    I am a graphic designer and therefore have a LOT of software (Adobe, Quark, the usual suspects). I want to upgrade to Snow Leopard on my G5 with 16G of RAM. I have made a copy of my 500GB startup drive with Carbon Copy Cloner and I am ready to wipe the original disc and make it happen. But before I start, can I drag and drop my applications and library folders so I don't have to reinstall everything?

    Thanks in advance for good news...
     
  2. Hellhammer Moderator

    Hellhammer

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2008
    Location:
    Finland
  3. rickruss thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2010
    #3
    Thanks...

    Thanks for the response, but my G5 is an Intel beast. I am pretty sure I meet all the requirements to install SL, I am just trying to save valuable time, if possible.
     
  4. Hellhammer Moderator

    Hellhammer

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2008
    Location:
    Finland
    #4
    Can you post a screen shot from  -> About this Mac? G5 is NOT Intel based
     
  5. rickruss thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2010
    #5
    My bad...

    It's a Mac Pro...I must've regressed. Sorry.
     
  6. Les Kern macrumors 68040

    Les Kern

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2002
    Location:
    Alabama
    #6
    If you have another external drive you can clone your machine to it using Carbon Copy Cloner (maybe a half-hour). Check and make sure it can boot your laptop by holding the option key on start-up and selecting the external disk.
    Then install a fresh SL on the laptop, then after restart and when prompted, select the hard drive as the source for migration. All your apps and settings and keys and such will come over intact.
    That's one way to do it.
    Another way is to simply re-install the apps one at a time, culling the ones you never use.
     
  7. Hellhammer Moderator

    Hellhammer

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2008
    Location:
    Finland
    #7
    If that's the case, you can just drag&drop App folder or make a TM backup and use Migration Assistant
     
  8. Extreme343GS macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2010
    #8
    SL not PPC compatible.

    G5 or even a super computer. SL does not work on PPC. No work arounds i'm afraid.
     
  9. RedTomato macrumors 68040

    RedTomato

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2005
    Location:
    .. London ..
    #9
    You might want to remove your serial number from your screenshot. It's not a good idea to have it publicly visible.
     
  10. rickruss thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2010
    #10
    Ooops...

    Thanks for pointing that out, Red...I didn't even think to check.

    I am going to try the Time Machine and Migration Assistant. Hopefully that will save some time and headaches. I reserve the right to log back in desperation. :eek:
     

Share This Page