Can I connect an iMac to more than one screen?

Discussion in 'iMac' started by uaecasher, Feb 2, 2010.

  1. uaecasher macrumors 65816

    uaecasher

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2009
    Location:
    Stillwater, OK
    #1
    Hello,

    I'm wondering if it's possible to connect the new iMac 27" to more than one external monitors, like 3. Is it possible? or is it just limited to the Mac Pro?

    Thanks :)
     
  2. pionata macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2005
    Location:
    Montreal
    #2
    You can plug one external monitor of equal resolution.

    If you want more than 2 monitors, like let's say you wanted to build a spaceship, then you could in theory get a third with an expensive adaptor.
     
  3. Hellhammer Moderator

    Hellhammer

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2008
    Location:
    Finland
    #3
    Not true. It doesn't have to have the same resolution as iMac's screen.

    @OP: It might be possible with this but I've heard people having problems with it
     
  4. vrockob macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2010
    Location:
    Orange County CA,
    #4
    yes you can and the adapter i use wasn't expensive. both my
    23"external monitors run at 1920x1080. this is what I have. http://www.diamondmm.com/BVU195.php
     

    Attached Files:

  5. RedRaven571 macrumors 65816

    RedRaven571

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2009
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    #5
    So, are you, in fact, building a spaceship? If so, can I have a ride (after you work out any bugs, of course)?
     
  6. MacMojo1 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2006
    #6
    I run dual screen of my work 22" Dell. It has Displayport input, so I get a mini-display to display port cable and it works great. It's cool too, when I powerup the Dell to that input the iMac automatically switches to dual display mode and when I shut it off returns to single display. I only wish the monitor had a higher resolution. The sequencer in Logic Studio has fonts twice the size.
     
  7. Badger^2 macrumors 68000

    Badger^2

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2009
    Location:
    Sacramento
  8. quadG5guy macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2010
    Location:
    Richmond, VA
    #8
  9. Hellhammer Moderator

    Hellhammer

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2008
    Location:
    Finland
    #9
    Usually second screen is used for not-so-important stuff like iTunes.
     
  10. linux2mac macrumors 65816

    linux2mac

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2009
    Location:
    "City of Lakes", MN
    #10
    MacSales.com (OWC) has a new high definition USB video adatper.

    http://eshop.macsales.com/item/Newer Technology/VIDU2DVIA/

    I had tried the non high definition version ( the high definition version came out a couple months after I made my purchase) but had issues with my 27" base model iMac. For one, the screens would freeze after waking up from sleep mode. I ended up sending it back after a week. I was not sure if this was a issue with the 27' iMac or the video adapter. OWC claims to have no trouble with this adapter on Mac Book Pros.

    Anyways, another thing that bothered me that was not related to the product's performance was that the resolution of the 27" iMac screen is superior to my other displays. I would prefer having equal resolution across all three displays. I did not like having to re-size a window when dragging it from my 27" iMac to the secondary or third display.

    -Mike
     
  11. Full of Win macrumors 68030

    Full of Win

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2007
    Location:
    Ask Apple
    #11
    No, not really. Many 'pallet based' programs, like Photoshop, Illustrator, After Effects, Premiere Pro, Vegas, Cinema 4D...etc benefit from having an extra screen that does not have to be super fast.

    Also, you can put programs that you like to monitor on the secondary(or tertiary) screen. For example, Mail and Transmission can 'live' on a the screen connected to the USB port.
     

Share This Page