Can I create a web app for iPads with a local web server?

Discussion in 'Web Design and Development' started by Doctor Q, Mar 9, 2011.

1. Doctor Q Administrator

Doctor Q

Staff Member

I'm imagining a scenario like this and wonder if it's technically doable and if it's a reasonable approach. Note that I'm a web programmer but not an iOS programmer.

A 12-person team is out in the woods on a scientific scavenger hunt for bugs. They stay in wifi range of a Mac that's running a web server with a web app I'll write. Each person has an iPad or iPhone running mobile Safari.

When one scavenger spots a gromphadorhina portentosa, he/she types its name in a web form and submits it. (Maybe we'll use abbreviations for the names!) The web app checks if a gromphadorhina portentosa has already been spotted and recorded, letting that person know. If it hasn't been spotted before, the scavenger takes a photo and collects other scientific information about the bug, which can stay on the local device until later. The purpose of the central web server is to prevent two scavengers from taking the time to record details about the same bug.

Optimizations could include using AJAX to check for matches as the user types.

Is this a practical way to do approach this problem? Are there smarter approaches I should also consider?

2. needlnerdz macrumors regular

needlnerdz

what you described is very seemingly possible. look into PhoneGap - you can develop apps in CSS/HTML/JAVASCRIPT that are compiled as normal apps. Nevertheless - it could probably also be done simply by making a normal website that utilizes the iOS Webkit - run the Mac with a local wifi network [not sure if there is a limit to how many people can be connected at once?] - then with MAMP running the server.. just have all of the ipads loading the server page.. using PHP/mySQL to keep track of who finds what. PhoneGap is the slick way to do it.. but might be overkill.

3. Doctor Q thread starter Administrator

Doctor Q