Become a MacRumors Supporter for $25/year with no ads, private forums, and more!
  • Did you order new AirTags? We've opened a dedicated AirTags forum.

rookpsu

macrumors member
Original poster
Jul 10, 2008
Philadelphia
I capriciously scooped up another Korean QHD panel on sale because it had an HDMI port and therefore - at least I thought - I could finally jettison the Dual-Link DVI issues that plagued my old one.

Little did I realize that my knockoff mDP to HDMI cable was only going to send at 1080P. I'm not sure if this is a limitation of the cable or my drivers.

I have a mid-2012 MBA with the Intel HD 4000 card.

Is there a more robust Thunderbolt->HDMI cable out there (or possibly updated drivers) that would allow me to send QHD across the wire or am I going to have to shell out $100 for another crappy Dual Link DVI cable?

motrek

macrumors 68020
Sep 14, 2012
I capriciously scooped up another Korean QHD panel on sale because it had an HDMI port and therefore - at least I thought - I could finally jettison the Dual-Link DVI issues that plagued my old one.

Little did I realize that my knockoff mDP to HDMI cable was only going to send at 1080P. I'm not sure if this is a limitation of the cable or my drivers.

I have a mid-2012 MBA with the Intel HD 4000 card.

Is there a more robust Thunderbolt->HDMI cable out there (or possibly updated drivers) that would allow me to send QHD across the wire or am I going to have to shell out $100 for another crappy Dual Link DVI cable?

I think it's a limitation of the version of HDMI supported by the Air and probably the monitor too. Those monitors all say they require dual-link DVI input to be driven at full resolution.

I have been temped by those panels before but didn't buy one for exactly this reason. If you have a chance to send it back, might be worth it. I believe there are a bunch with DisplayPort inputs for < $100 more.

Comment

Consultant

macrumors G5
Jun 27, 2007
HDMI does not support it. It's not the cable.