can I do the whole process without adding a device?

Discussion in 'iOS Programming' started by imaumac, Oct 19, 2008.

  1. imaumac macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2008
    #1
    Can I start from the beginning an iphone application, make whole certificates, and upload to appstore, without adding a device?

    or it is bind to add an iphone device?

    I mean,i have an iphone, but i dont want to add, can I do the whole process without adding a device?

    thanks a lot !.
     
  2. robbieduncan Moderator emeritus

    robbieduncan

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2002
    Location:
    London
    #2
    Theoretically you could, but as software on the device often acts differently than in the simulator this would be a terrible idea.
     
  3. imaumac thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2008
    #3
    but my app is to small
    And run great in the simularor

    And the last: my iphone is jaibreaked

    What can i do?

    Thanks
     
  4. robbieduncan Moderator emeritus

    robbieduncan

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2002
    Location:
    London
    #4
    As far as I am concerned size of the app doesn't matter. The simulator has access to all the APIs of desktop OSX. The real device has not. There are numerous people out there who had apps that worked great in the simulator and fail to run at all on the real hardware. Unless you test on real hardware you cannot know if the app works or not.
     
  5. imaumac thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2008
    #5
    thanks again...
    but how can I do, if my iphone is jailbreaked?
    please help !
     
  6. robbieduncan Moderator emeritus

    robbieduncan

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2002
    Location:
    London
    #6
    I've no idea. It's possible the whole process works fine with jailbroken phones. It's possible you will need to restore to a totally standard phone. Basically you got yourself into this by modifying your phone. Personally I wouldn't want to install, or worse buy, an application which has not been tested on a totally standard as-shipped by Apple phone.
     
  7. imaumac thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2008
    #7
    i dont know if this help,
    but i remember that i press the upload button.
    dos apple knows now that i am trying to test app on a jailbreaked iphone?

    [​IMG]
     
  8. firewood macrumors 604

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2003
    Location:
    Silicon Valley
    #8
    Developers who don't want to test on their phone often buy or borrow a spare or used iPod Touch for app testing.

    .
     
  9. fenrus110 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2008
    #9
    also the simulator is a lot faster than the device. you'd be surprised how bad things lag on the device compared to the simulator.
     
  10. imaumac thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2008
    #10
    i realy understand you, seriously, I realy understand, but
    reed the new error i have.

    5 minut ago i restor with itunes the iphone, and say this error:
    YOUR SIM CARD IS NOT SUPORTED,

    let me explain to you, i buy this phone to some guy 7 month ago.
    and only work with jailbreaked mode.

    i can sacrifice to make it work, only just to taste (losing all functions)
    but i dont know how to do it...

    i try and try,and try..... i dont know how taste my app on the iphone.

    some body can guide me if there is a way to taste, and then uplod to app store please ?

    thanks for all your help.
     

Share This Page