Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

gvdv

macrumors regular
Original poster
Feb 18, 2007
Hi,
I'm about to buy FCE HD, and I'm relatively new to editing digital video in general (edited film briefly about 20 years ago and have just done a couple of amateur videos to teach myself the ropes).

I have an effect that I'd like to achieve, and don't really have the language to describe it or the awareness of how to go about it, although my research may have pointed me in the right direction. So, I'm hoping that people here can help me and that you can tell me whether or not FCEHD is capable of doing this.

I'm thinking that this is an example of compositing - so let me know if I'm wrong.

Here is what I would like to do.

1. Start with a black screen.
2. Slowly, as if we were zooming out and moving backwards, the letters of a word begin to appear on screen (they don't fade in - this is difficult to describe - they appear at the edges of the screen, and then, as the illusion of the viewer moving backwards continues, more and more of the word is revealed. It's kind of like the text has been 'outside' of the screen, and moves into the screen, becoming smaller as the screen encompasses it. The only illustration that I can think of that does this is the THX 'The Audience Is Listening' text that precedes some movies in theatres).
3. The letters of the word at first are white (actually transparent), but as we see the whole of the word on screen, we see live action video (and hear audio of their voices) of different people 'under' the letters.

So, is this compositing? (Not the blue screen type). If not, what is it, and how do I accomplish this with FCE?

Thanks for any help,
GVDV

gvdv

macrumors regular
Original poster
Feb 18, 2007
Hi Multimedia,
Thanks very much for the web page address, and yes, I think you mentioned elsewhere that FCEHD4 was about to come out. Thanks for the reminder, though.