Can I do this with Airport Express?

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by lord patton, Nov 1, 2007.

  1. lord patton macrumors 65816

    lord patton

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2005
    Location:
    Chicago
    #1
    Problem: My TiVO connects wireless with the "b" protocol. This throttles down the speed of my whole (wireless) network.

    Solution 1: Get an Airport Extreme base station for g and n, and continue to use the Linksys g/b to provide a signal for the TiVO. I've been thinking of getting the AEBS anyway, so maybe I'll do this.

    Solution 2: Get an Airport Express and connect the TiVO to this with an ethernet cable. That way, I'm transmitting to the express with the g protocol, and TiVO won't have to use it's "b" receiver. Bonus, I get AirTunes.

    But will this work? I know the express has an ethernet port, but I'm not sure if it can be used in this way. The product pages on apple.com say it's for connecting to a router or wireless modem. Does this mean it won't connect to the TiVO and allow the TiVO to access the network?
     
  2. yg17 macrumors G5

    yg17

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2004
    Location:
    St. Louis, MO
    #2
    Solution 1 will work. Don't think 2 will, as I don't believe an Airport Express can be used for that.


    I've never used a Tivo before, but can it not be configured to only connect to the wireless network when it needs to download updates, which is like once a day? Seems like if you can make it disconnect when not using it, your network would be G except for the few minutes it's connected
     
  3. lord patton thread starter macrumors 65816

    lord patton

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2005
    Location:
    Chicago
    #3
    Hmmm... I don't know if the Linksys router works that way. I think it is set up for either b/g or g only—that is, it doesn't switch on the fly. Too bad, because you're right—the TiVO just connects a few times during the middle of the night.

    I'll probably just get the AEBS. Saw one refurb from Apple for $140 (the non--gigabit one).

    The whole reason I noticed this was doing a video chat in iChat and the connection got really choppy and unusable. I'm thinking the "b" protocol was responsible for it.
     
  4. yg17 macrumors G5

    yg17

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2004
    Location:
    St. Louis, MO
    #4
    The way it should work is that with it set to b/g, when everything connected to it is g, speeds are g, and then when a b device connects, it drops to b. When all b devices are disconnected, it goes back up to g.


    What sort of internet connection do you have? Unless you've got FiOS or something like that, B should still be faster than your internet connection
     
  5. ChrisA macrumors G4

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2006
    Location:
    Redondo Beach, California
    #5
    I don't think you can use an AP Express as a bridge. So #2 may not work.
    I have the AP Extreme base station Buy it if you plan on using the USB features
    for a disk and printers but as a router it is VERY lacking in features compared
    to the typical linksys or Dlink home router

    Your best bet is to run a wire to the tivo. It is not a portable device but if you really
    can't pull wire then using two wireless networks, one for "b" and the other for G and N would work fine
     
  6. lord patton thread starter macrumors 65816

    lord patton

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2005
    Location:
    Chicago
    #6
    So, I don't know what I'm talking about, made assumptions, and was wrong. Cool, thanks for the education. [seriously, no sarcasm] Although I did think that it was just g and n that were faster than the typical cable modem.

    What's the best way to monitor the network speeds? Activity monitor? I could look at that during the iChat and see what's going on.
     

Share This Page