Can I dynamically change the HD area used for Windoz programs?+Bonus Quest

Discussion in 'Mac mini' started by kristenanne77, Dec 29, 2012.

  1. kristenanne77 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2009
    #1
    Using bootcamp on my macbook I know I am sort of "locked in" to the amount of hard drive space I allocate for windows programs. T would tend to overestimate the area needed because "you never know" if you will need more space for windoz.

    Before doing a bootcamp with "Mini-mac" (thats the name of my computer!) , I have also been considering Fusion or Parallells.
    Do either of these programs allow you do dynamically change the area (larger or smaller) used for windoz programs?

    Bonus Question: Using an external drive for windoz?
    I probably use windoz programs about 50 percent of the time. Another possible consideration would be to run them all off of an external drive. Is this possible? Would it drastically reduce the speed?
     
  2. ipsychedelic macrumors 6502a

    ipsychedelic

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2012
    #2
    Yes, they do have the option to either allocate a fixed amount, or dynamically change the "space" (which is just a file in OS X containing all).
    The dynamic part I think only works upwards, that is, it will allocate MORE space if needed, but never reduce.

    It depends, if the software allows to be installed to an external location.
    Have in mind software anyways has the tendency to at least install a few base files into "C:".
    Will it be slower? That is a broad question. Depending on your hard drive, the given app, then it can be slower at load and if it has too much files (i.e like loading libraries and such) then it can slow down a bit.
    Since you say you will use 50/50 then I guess you either
    1. Use small apps that make no difference of being installed on the external, and haven't bothered to find a replacement on OS X.
    2. Use huge apps that load plugins, presets, assets, libraries and stuff depending on what you do (e.g Adobe's Premium apps, Music Edition apps, Video Edition apps), and in this case, you could experience slow-downs on execution, as they go to the external to load stuff.
    This is also the case for videogames, which is the reason why they recommend SSDs nowadays for the AAA games since they are constantly loading maps and textures from the hard disk.
     
  3. kristenanne77 thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2009
    #3
    Thank you ipsychedelic. Very cool name.

    The main "big" programs on windoz would be Band In A Box and Reaper for music, and Sony Vegas (for video stuff).

    On mac i would mostly use Logic, Reaper and maybe Ableton (music production stuff) . Reaper can run on either operating system, although it is a separate install for each system It is a lightweight powerhouse.
    No video editing programs except for whatever video stuff is included with the included mac operating system. I haven't started to set it up yet so i don't know what is included.

    I think it would be better to put the Windows stuff on the mac hard drive.

    Now the question is:
    Either do Bootcamp and keep the operating systems separate ...or use Fusion emulation But have a much easier install of my windows programs by just "dragging them over". less hassle..
     
  4. ipsychedelic macrumors 6502a

    ipsychedelic

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2012
    #4
    Well both Band-in-a-Box (IIRC, not that I've used or know of any recent versions) and Vegas are not really big so you shouldn't have a problem indeed putting them on the internal.
    Moreover, with the exception of encoding on Vegas and loading huge videos, they could run reasonably well on a VM.

    Well you are better off running Reaper with the native version (same with Ableton), even if you have to use a VST to AU adapter.
    Of course this is all considering you'd be using the Mini as your main machine.

    I think we all have rights to install iLife, which brings iMovie.
    My opinion of iMovie is like being that crappy bundled windows program that only edits WMV (forgot the name).

    YEs, less hassle.

    It really depends. If you still don't own either Fusion nor Parallels you could tryout and then run your "biggest" power consumption beast which would be Vegas. Then get the feeling of it. Do you think it runs good enough to have it on VM, according to your editing needs?

    I personally NEVER tried bootcamp because it seems like an overall PiTA, I mean, when I moved to OS X I was doing it full fledge and now I don't even run a VM (just the once-in-a-while execution of a pesky win-only app via Wineskin), so I found replacements for my Win software.
    I just find it rather bothering to be rebooting if I was using bootcamp, of course you can be the kind of person who never leaves the computer on and the like, so you could be fine with it.
    Also what If I was on bootcamp and then needed something (app, data) from OS X but was "stuck" on bootcamp at the time being?
    Of course all I say about bootcamp was before I found replacements for all apps and in the end didn't even used a VM for anything (except Wineskin, which is a VM but a bit different, or let's just say, more restricted, but won't work for you as it's a no no for "big" apps).
     
  5. kristenanne77 thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2009
    #5
    Thanks again.

    I am planning the basic Fusion 5 route. It says it will works with windows 8 so I am hoping it will work with windows xp as well because that is what I have. It lists Fusion 5 "pro" as working with all windows programs but I don't want to pay extra for that. I will shout out with another post on that question.

    In general I will continue to do the video stuff on the windows machine, but sometimes its nice to have the option of doing on another machine. The audio stuff will also be done on both "for now". But that will change. Part of the reason I am switching to mac is that I have wasted so much time with windows and audio programs (disgusted) that my time is not worth the hassle anymore. I am tired of becoming a windows "expert" when all I really want to do is run my programs. Even my simple old macbook works better with the audio. And when bootcamp runs the windows programs, they run better than my PC. I just had a lot of money tied up in windows programs, audio interfaces, etc.

    <<<Off topic: I have been saving for an apple for a while now and when I heard that they were going to open a small facility here in the US next year, I decided to give them some money and buy one. (My macbook was given to me by my son. He knew I was reluctant to buy one because I am stubborn about buying communist (virtual) slave labor produced goods - I just wasn't brought up that way). >>>>
     
  6. ipsychedelic macrumors 6502a

    ipsychedelic

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2012
    #6
    Pro just looks like extra BS, I think you will be fine with the regular version.

    About the "offtopic" stuff:
    1. Yes, OS X surely feels more focused on simplicity. Of course it might also be the "new stuff" effect but time will tell.
    2. About the communist stuff... well, those are good thoughts but anyway unless the only electronics you use are a computer, must stuff is done by Chinese labor, and trust when I say, even if the working conditions suck, they love (at first) working on Foxconn, as it's a good chance for them to make a living.
    It would be cool if all countries could just hire their own people to produce their own products and under excellent working conditions, but $$$ is always gonna "get in the way".
     
  7. monkeybagel macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2011
    Location:
    United States
    #7
    Good for you. I am also very excited about this. Can't wait to see Designed by Apple in California. Manufactured in the USA.
     

Share This Page