Can I edit 4K video with this MacBook Pro?

Discussion in 'Digital Video' started by eyalgil, Apr 17, 2017.

?

Can I edit 4K video with this MacBook Pro?

  1. yes

    3 vote(s)
    50.0%
  2. no

    3 vote(s)
    50.0%
  1. eyalgil macrumors newbie

    eyalgil

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2017
    #1
    macbook pro early 2011 2.7 GHz intel core i7
    16 gb ddr3 ram
    intel hd graphics 3000 512mb
    SSD hard drive

    so what do you say?
     
  2. kohlson macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2010
    #2
    According to Apple's web site, this meets the spec for FCP X and 4K. The minimum graphics capabilities is Intel Graphics 3000.In my experience, using a 2014 15-in MBP with 16GB memory and integrated Intel graphics, this will just barely do so. I found that this Mac seems to have trouble with a Dell 2715Q (4K). Using the proxy media settings should help.
     
  3. sevoneone macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    May 16, 2010
    #3
    Yeah, for 4k you'd do best with a discrete GPU. If you are just doing simple edits/transitions and maybe some light color grading you'll probably be just ok using proxy media.
     
  4. northernmunky macrumors 6502a

    northernmunky

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2007
    Location:
    London, Taipei
    #4
    As long as you use proxy media, you'll be fine. I've been editing 4k on the move on a Macbook Air with 8Gb RAM and its perfectly fine as long as I'm using proxy. The only slow part was transcoding the proxies in the first place (that took an age), but exporting the final material was a lot faster than I was expecting.
     
  5. satinsilverem2 macrumors 6502

    satinsilverem2

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2013
    Location:
    Richmond, VA
    #5
    Thats the exact machine I use and I edit 4k with no issues. The only thing is to use proxy media.
     
  6. eyalgil thread starter macrumors newbie

    eyalgil

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2017
    #6
    i tried editing today 4k and after i used LUTS the rendering time was hell.
    but cant complain too much the editing itself was ok
     
  7. Msivyparrot macrumors newbie

    Msivyparrot

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2017
    Location:
    South Africa
    #7
    Meeting the specs and actual editing are very different. The problem I have is that Apple has made a development decision in regards how it will deal with media, for example prores 4444 with alpha files are fine when left in the native or unconverted codec, but when the timeline is set to view-proxy, the file needs to be converted into a proxy prores format, and this conversion strips the alpha channel from the prores 4444 with alpha channel.

    It seems that no one has picked up on this disaster in the life of FCPX, surely if you're going to down res a codec from 4444 to proxy, you would endeavour to maintain the alpha channel in some form.

    When editing above HD, that is, in proxy mode, I find it helpful to create masks when I need to use a prores 4444 with alpha file, this way I can at least edit and see what I am constructing.

    For a long time I was confused as to why, and the only solution to my confusion was that Apple strips the alpha channel from the prores 4444 when converted to proxy.

    Now Apple has to decide going forward one of 2 ways forward, either carry on with the proxy timeline view, and fix the prores 4444 with alpha -proxy prores bug, or find a way to to not have to convert the prores 4444 with alpha into a cached file that plays on the timeline in proxy mode.

    I am not for 1 second saying the proxy mode is a bad idea, NO NO, it is a huge great idea, flawed by bad codec design! Something I keep hoping will be fixed!!
     

Share This Page