Can I extend my wi-fi network with an Ethernet bridge?

Discussion in 'Mac Accessories' started by aaronvan, Dec 7, 2013.

  1. aaronvan Suspended

    aaronvan

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2011
    Location:
    República Cascadia
    #1
    I'd like to use a switch so I can connect a FreeBSD box to the network without running Ethernet cable all over the house. I'm trying to do this on the cheap, not purchasing another wireless router.

    Proposed topology:

    Airport Extreme (running 7.6.4) <---air gap---> wireless switch/bridge <---Cat5 cable---> FreeBSD box.

    Is there an inexpensive wireless Ethernet switch/bridge that is friendly with AE?
     
  2. blueroom macrumors 603

    blueroom

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2009
    Location:
    Toronto, Canada
    #2
    An AirPort Express or for speed use Ethernet over Powerline adapters.
     
  3. aaronvan, Dec 7, 2013
    Last edited: Dec 8, 2013

    aaronvan thread starter Suspended

    aaronvan

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2011
    Location:
    República Cascadia
    #3
    Ethernet over Powerline might be the ticket. Very inexpensive. Thanks.
     

Share This Page