Can I get a free .com domain

Discussion in 'Web Design and Development' started by celticpride678, Jun 27, 2009.

  1. celticpride678

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2009
    Location:
    Boston, MA
    #1
    Instead of getting a .something.com domain, can I get a free .com domain from somewhere? Thanks.
     
  2. r.j.s Moderator emeritus

    r.j.s

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2007
    Location:
    Texas
    #2
    Usually, when you pay for hosting, you get the domain name for free.
     
  3. raygungirl macrumors member

    raygungirl

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2009
    Location:
    Arizona
    #3
    I seriously doubt it. But if you find a place to get free .com names, let me know.

    Domains don't cost very much. Like under $10 a year, usually. It's the web-space that seems to cost a lot, in my opinion.
     
  4. celticpride678 thread starter Guest

    celticpride678

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2009
    Location:
    Boston, MA
    #4
    OK. What is the best FREE web hosting service? How good is Webs?
     
  5. MacDawg macrumors P6

    MacDawg

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2004
    Location:
    "Between the Hedges"
    #5
    But you should be careful, even if you buy it as a package deal, because if you move to another hosting company you may find that the original company "owns" your domain name at that point and you are unable to move it. You will need to get that clarified up front.

    Woof, Woof - Dawg [​IMG]
     
  6. raygungirl macrumors member

    raygungirl

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2009
    Location:
    Arizona
    #6
    Don't contradict me!!! ;)

    I didn't even think of that. But really, a free .com name? What hosting service do you go through?
     
  7. MacDawg macrumors P6

    MacDawg

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2004
    Location:
    "Between the Hedges"
    #7
    As is true in most things in life, you get what you pay for

    If you find something that is completely "free" there are usually too many strings and catches to make it worthwhile or useable under normal circumstances.

    Woof, Woof - Dawg [​IMG]
     
  8. r.j.s Moderator emeritus

    r.j.s

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2007
    Location:
    Texas
    #8
    No idea. But you wont get a free domain with free hosting, it's one or the other.

    A lot of them offer it ... 1&1 is one ... but the website I run is hosted in-house.

    Yes, but each one differs, so you do have to do your homework.
     
  9. ProwlingTiger macrumors 65816

    ProwlingTiger

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2008
    #9
    I used to use Dreamhost, but have since moved to a a mirrored array ran by a private individual. DH was good for what I used it for.

    As for registering domains, I will never go back to 1&1. My experience may have been isolated, but idk. My domains were down over half the time with all nameservers pointing towards my hosting. I moved to a different registrar and it all resolved itself.

    I currently use WebsiteSpot.com for a registrar of most my domains. Never had a problem.
     
  10. r.j.s Moderator emeritus

    r.j.s

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2007
    Location:
    Texas
    #10
    Our domain name is registered through 1&1 (and directed to our servers), and I haven't had any problems in about two years ... I've actually had more problems with the damn servers.
     
  11. ProwlingTiger macrumors 65816

    ProwlingTiger

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2008
    #11
    Yeah, I'm guessing my incident was isolated. They were nice enough to give me a refund, if I recall correctly.
     
  12. YanniDepp macrumors 6502

    YanniDepp

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2008
  13. drf1229 macrumors regular

    drf1229

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2009
    #13
    Webs.com is ok because it will make your domain easy to remember (mywebsite.webs.com), however the free membership does not support PHP, which can be a huge problem. I recommend 110mb.com or x10hosting.com for good php support.
     
  14. celticpride678 thread starter Guest

    celticpride678

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2009
    Location:
    Boston, MA
    #14
    Is there any free service that supports FTP so I can make the site from iWeb and then upload it? Thanks.
     
  15. dmmcintyre3 macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2007
    #15
    You can get a free yoursite.co.cc domain type thing.

    That .tk thing is not as good as the .co.cc when it comes to settings
     
  16. Consultant macrumors G5

    Consultant

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2007
    #16
    Get a job. Much easier than trying to find something for free.
     
  17. ProwlingTiger macrumors 65816

    ProwlingTiger

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2008
    #17
    Agreed. Even if it's only mowing a lawn or 2.
     

Share This Page