Can I get a straight answer... TIGER UTD

Discussion in 'macOS' started by wakerider017, Oct 26, 2007.

  1. wakerider017 macrumors 68000

    wakerider017

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2006
    Location:
    US of A
    #1
    Hey,

    I have gotten a zillion different answers on here...

    So please, only answer if you have ACTUALLY USED a Tiger UTD disc.




    Question:

    I understand that you had to have Panther installed in order to use the Tiger UTD disc...

    But were you still allowed to do an erase and install (From the options)?

    Thanks guys!
     
  2. frostrambler macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2007
    Location:
    NYC
    #2
    This is the exact same question I have, I am waiting on my UTD disk. I have asked 5-6 different people, and half of the people say NO, only upgrade! The other half say YES, you can erase and install, as long as their is an OS already on the computer.

    So which is it?
     
  3. Roy Hobbs macrumors 68000

    Roy Hobbs

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2005
    #3
    I have a Tiger UpToDate DVD and it is the exact same as the retail version. Just without the fancy label.

    You do not need Panther installed, I have installed Tiger on a clean hard drive using these discs.

    There are NO upgrade discs
     
  4. mmendoza27 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2007
    #4
    Thanks, that's good to know. I now know that when I go pick up my Core2Duo iMac today, that I will be able to install it on my MacBook Pro and do a fresh install.
     
  5. drlunanerd macrumors 65816

    drlunanerd

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2004
    Location:
    UK
    #5
    There most certainly was. I have one.
     
  6. wakerider017 thread starter macrumors 68000

    wakerider017

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2006
    Location:
    US of A
    #6
    my point exactly... 2 posts, 2 different answers...
     
  7. dr_lha macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2003
    #7
    I have used a Tiger UTD disk, in fact I have it sitting next to my computer right now.


    No.

    Sorry, but you're wrong. I have the Tiger upgrade disk in my hand right now.
     
  8. wakerider017 thread starter macrumors 68000

    wakerider017

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2006
    Location:
    US of A
    #8

    Are you sure?

    I am not talking about erasing from disk utility and then installing...


    I am talking about selecting the option in the list.


    There are 3 options usually.

    1. Archive and Install

    2. Upgrade

    3. Erase ad Install



    Doesn't make sense that they would get rid of erase and install.....
     
  9. dr_lha macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2003
    #9
    100% sure.
     
  10. drlunanerd macrumors 65816

    drlunanerd

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2004
    Location:
    UK
    #10
    And that's why UTD disks can be a pain in the backside. You get what you pay for I'm afraid.
    I can't speak for the Leopard UTD disk because I haven't got one. I can get hold of one to check all this but frankly I can't be bothered now I have a full retail disk in hand :D
     
  11. OllyW Moderator

    OllyW

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2005
    Location:
    The Black Country, England
    #11
    I bought a new Mac mini tonight with the Leopard drop-in DVD.

    It is an upgrade disc and searches for Tiger before the installation starts.

    It is probably safe to assume the up-to-date disc will be the same.
     
  12. nuclearwinter macrumors regular

    nuclearwinter

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2003
    Location:
    Milky Way
    #12
    Well, back in the day...

    (which was a Wednesday) I had the Panther UTD discs. They were a collection of four CDs. Three were install discs and the fourth was the Xcode disc. Panther would only install if I had Jaguar on the system. I had just purchased the 1.25 G4 Powerbook 15". A month or so later, Panther was released and I got the discs in the mail.

    Now, my aunt had gotten an iMac around the same time and was also eligible for the UTD program. She ordered the iMac after Panther was released. The system came with Jaguar, but Apple had included the Panther UTD discs in the box. She could install Panther WITHOUT having Jaguar installed first.

    Two different situations, two different sets of Panther UTD discs. Weird.
     
  13. Matek macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2007
    #13
    Hmm, I already mentioned this in another topic and I don't want to look like a piracy supporter, but why don't you just download a regular Tiger install disc that will install the way you want? Since you have original disks already, you must own a license, which means you won't be breaking any laws.
     
  14. FreeState macrumors 68000

    FreeState

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2004
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
    #14
    http://docs.info.apple.com/article.html?artnum=107037


    Mac OS X 10.2: Upgrade installation requires Mac OS X 10.1 or later
    If you have Mac OS X version 10.0.4 or earlier installed, the hard disk must be erased prior to installing version 10.2 or later. The Installer offers an option to "Erase and Install."

    Symptom

    When you select a volume that contains Mac OS X 10.0 to 10.0.4 system software, an alert box with this message appears:

    "You cannot install Mac OS X on this computer without changing your install setting."

    Products affected
    Mac OS X 10.0 to 10.0.4
    Mac OS X 10.2 or later

    Solution

    The version 10.2 "Mac OS X Install Disc" or "Mac OS X Upgrade Disc" cannot be used to upgrade Mac OS X versions 10.0 to 10.0.4. The Mac OS X 10.2 Installer can upgrade Mac OS 10.1 or later.

    Choose "Erase and Install" in the Mac OS X 10.2 Installer.
     
  15. wakerider017 thread starter macrumors 68000

    wakerider017

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2006
    Location:
    US of A
    #15

    So I guess that means the the UTD disc can indeed do an erase and install.
     
  16. OllyW Moderator

    OllyW

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2005
    Location:
    The Black Country, England
    #16
    The Leopard "Upgrade" drop-in disc can do an erase and install. It has exactly the same options as the retail disc, it just needs to detect Tiger before it will run.
     

Share This Page