Can I get my iMac to "forget" a password.

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by mrsmacis, Sep 5, 2010.

  1. mrsmacis macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2010
    #1
    I have my iMac "remembering" passwords for sites like EBay so when I click on the bookmark it just autofills the password for me. Am I able to undo that, so that the password has to be manually typed in. Am trying to do some early Christmas shopping and want to keep the rest of the family out of my Ebay site. Thanks or any help anyone can offer.
     
  2. spinnerlys Guest

    spinnerlys

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2008
    Location:
    forlod bygningen
    #2
    Safari Menu > Reset Safari > Remove saved names and passwords + Remove cookies

    [​IMG]
     
  3. GGJstudios macrumors Westmere

    GGJstudios

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
  4. spinnerlys Guest

    spinnerlys

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2008
    Location:
    forlod bygningen
    #4
    Macintosh HD / Applications / Utilities / Keychain Access
     
  5. GGJstudios macrumors Westmere

    GGJstudios

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    #5
    That's another way of getting there. Just seems faster via the menu bar for me.
     
  6. spinnerlys Guest

    spinnerlys

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2008
    Location:
    forlod bygningen
    #6
    I know, I have it there too for my mobile computers, but that lock is not there unless one puts it there, thus my addition of the location. One might never know. Btw, what would you delete there? "Safari Forms Autofill"?
     
  7. GGJstudios macrumors Westmere

    GGJstudios

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    #7
    Just search for ebay and it will pull up the web form password for that site.

    By the way, this method allows you to selectively delete individual passwords, instead of deleting them all, using this method:
     
  8. spinnerlys Guest

    spinnerlys

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2008
    Location:
    forlod bygningen
    #8
    I don't have an eBay account currently in my database of autofills, but I tried "macr" for MacRumors and it couldn't find anything. Isn't that "keep me logged in" setting done via cookies?
     
  9. GGJstudios macrumors Westmere

    GGJstudios

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    #9
    I don't know why it doesn't find it for you. It does for me:
    ScreenCap 2.PNG
    Cookies keep you logged in, but they don't autofill the password when you initially log in. That's done via Keychain.
     

Share This Page