Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

Kupoback

macrumors member
Original poster
Dec 25, 2009
This is my very first time actually trying to use Photoshop, and I did this picture for my Final Project. I am in school for Web Design, but am also thinking of double majoring in Graphic Design, since I really enjoyed making this.

If I can get some critique, no matter how harsh, that would be great. Thank you. Oh, and on a side note, this was considered the best work my teacher has seen in my entire class, which made me feel real good about this work.

Attachments

• Final.jpg
    Final.jpg
    707.5 KB · Views: 247

Kwill

macrumors 68000
Mar 10, 2003
Please don't encourage this forum with the statement "no matter how harsh." :D

Either your teacher doesn't get out much or didn't want to hurt your feelings. You should be able to figure out the most obvious issue by considering: What image does a dark background with spattered red liquid, illegibly written notes and tape suggest? With that in mind, sticking a Valentine heart in there is an oxymoron.

If you want to convey love, a palette of colors and fonts used should be light. Goth is an entirely different genre. There is considerably more to add about composition but I'll leave that for someone else.

Kupoback

macrumors member
Original poster
Dec 25, 2009
I want to improve myself in any and all way, so I can take any criticism.

The quotes are from a song by Rise Against called The Approaching Curve about a couple, possibly teens, who break up while they are out on a drive. So I was trying to capture the darkness of the song. With the red splatters, it was to capture the end of the song when the couple go off the cliff. The dove and the couple in the picture was to go with the lyrics in showing signs of peace and happiness.