Can I have multiple iPhones for one iCloud?

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by Danoc, Jun 9, 2016.

  1. Danoc macrumors 6502

    Danoc

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2011
    #1
    I have an iPhone 6. I don't want to leave it yet.

    I'd like to try the Plus and the SE.

    Can I do that with one and unique Apple iCloud ID?

    I'd like to keep my health info intact, especially now that I use a Watch.

    I'd like to use an iPhone 6 one day and an iPhone SE another day with the same info being synced. Is that possible?
     
  2. dictoresno macrumors 601

    dictoresno

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2012
    Location:
    NJ
    #2
    i am logged into both an iPhone 6 and my wife old 5S which i keep around to update and fiddle with. so long as you switch the SIM card over, it shouldn't be an issue.
     
  3. M. Gustave macrumors 68000

    M. Gustave

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2015
    Location:
    Grand Budapest Hotel
    #3
    Yes. No different than having an iPhone and an iPad on the same iCloud account, etc.
     
  4. ardchoille50 macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2014
    #4
    I have my iPhone 6s, iPhone 6 and iPad Pro all on the same iCloud account. It is indeed doable.
     
  5. Danoc thread starter macrumors 6502

    Danoc

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2011
    #5
    But my question was more about the data in my iCloud transiting between the 2 iPhones.

    When I look at my iCloud storage, I see an iPhone backup. If I setup a new iPhone, will this new iPhone have access to all the information saved on the previous iPhone without restoring its backup?
     
  6. RedOrchestra Suspended

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2012
    #6
    A back-up is different than iCloud storage across all your devices. The back-up will be specific to that device HOWEVER you can set up your new device by going the Restore from Back-up from your existing device.
     
  7. John Mcgregor Suspended

    John Mcgregor

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2015
    Location:
    Newport
    #7
    This is by design.
     
  8. Matthew9559 macrumors 6502a

    Matthew9559

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2007
    Location:
    Cleveland, OH
    #8
  9. Applejuiced macrumors Westmere

    Applejuiced

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Location:
    At the iPhone hacks section.
  10. Flow39 macrumors 68000

    Flow39

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2014
    Location:
    At the Apple Store
    #10
    Well, that's annoying. I always set up as new and I'd like to just be able to import my health data into my new phone. I don't like restoring from backups since it's not as "clean" so to speak. Hopefully Apple will bring us a way to move health data across.
     
  11. Matthew9559 macrumors 6502a

    Matthew9559

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2007
    Location:
    Cleveland, OH
    #11

    There's a way to do that, I believe I had to use some 3rd party software to do that exact thing and it worked without a hitch. Clean from all data except t I did have my Health Kit data. I can't think of the software at this moment but if I remember I'll post back.
     

Share This Page