Can I have two different size ram sticks (upgrade 1 ram)

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by Patrick-32, Aug 11, 2015.

  1. Patrick-32 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2012
    #1
    I have a MBP late 2011.

    At moment there is 2x2 gb RAM.

    I checked crucial and said it's possible upgrade to 2x8GB
    8GB DDR3 PC3-10600 Unbuffered NON-ECC 1.35V 1024Meg x 64


    I can afford 1 stick so is it possible buy 8gb stick and then have 10gb total in my MBP?
     
  2. DeltaMac macrumors 604

    DeltaMac

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2003
    Location:
    Delaware
  3. Patrick-32 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2012
  4. CoastalOR macrumors 68000

    CoastalOR

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2015
    Location:
    Oregon, USA
    #4
    Yes that will technically work having a 2gb & 8gb. Performance recommendations is to pair them as the same make and capacity, but it will still work. Make sure they are the same speed though.

    EDIT: I was to slow.
     
  5. Patrick-32 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2012
    #5
    Ok, thanks, I plan to upgrade to second 8gb stick in a few weeks.
    How do I check the speed of ram on current stick? I checked memory and it says
    "Your Mac contains 2 memory slots, each of which accepts a 1333 MHz DDR3 memory module"

    Does this tell me? Sorry for question if it's obvious, just want to make sure so I can compare before buying..

    This is the ram I am buying
    • Specs: DDR3 PC3-10600 • CL=9 • Unbuffered • NON-ECC • DDR3-1333 • 1.35V • 1024Meg x 64 • lead free • halogen free • for Mac
    • Series: Crucial
     
  6. CoastalOR macrumors 68000

    CoastalOR

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2015
    Location:
    Oregon, USA
    #6
    They are the same speed - 1333 MHz. I bolded the important numbers. BTW, I have 16Gb of Crucial memory in my late 2011 MBP with no problems.
     
  7. Patrick-32 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2012
    #7
    Hey, thanks for that CoastalOR, is 16 the max, 2 x 8gb yes. Thanks for all your help. :)
     
  8. CoastalOR macrumors 68000

    CoastalOR

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2015
    Location:
    Oregon, USA
    #8
    Yes, 16Gb is the max memory.
     

Share This Page