Can I hook up my Playstation One to my MacBook?

Discussion in 'MacBook' started by MiaEllie, Oct 19, 2008.

  1. MiaEllie macrumors newbie

    MiaEllie

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2008
    Location:
    Ithaca, NY
    #1
    Yeah, I really do mean Playstation ONE...it's an oldie but a goodie!
    Is there an adapter I can buy to play my PS1 through my MacBook?
    If so, what kind of adapter is it and where can I get one?
    My Macbook is just 8 months old so it is a recent one.
    THANKS!!!!
    MiaEllie
     
  2. Jpoon macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2008
    Location:
    Los Angeles
    #2
    Scratch that, you could get one of those T.V. tuners and then hook it up with Coax. That's going to be expensive as hell though lol.

    IMO, just get the DualShock USB adaptor and play with an emulator.
     
  3. cherry su macrumors 65816

    cherry su

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2008
  4. amc382 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2003
    #4
    emulation.

    dude... just use an emulator. there are plenty available for os x. a good one is PCSX at pcsx.gpost.dk

    after all, you'd be emulating a 1994 console on 2006 hardware. the original playstation had like a 33mhz processor and 2megs of ram... nothing by today's standards.

    you can use the macbooks optical drive for games, or even ISO images. as for a controller you can get a logitech controller with the same button arrangement, or a USB adapter that has a playstation controller port.

    this is what i use. and it's a much neater, simpler solution than using a real playstation through a video in port. plus it would be portable.
     
  5. davidg4781 macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2006
    Location:
    Alice, TX
    #5
    Are emulators like that legal? If they are, are there any for PS2s?
     
  6. timestoby macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2007
    Location:
    north devon,uk
    #6
  7. Chaos123x macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2008
  8. mklnz macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2007
    Location:
    Auckland, New Zealand
    #8
    What above poster said, just play with an emulator with your original discs. You'll get upscaled graphics on 3D polygons too :)
     
  9. toolbox macrumors 68020

    toolbox

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2007
    Location:
    Australia (WA)
    #9


    No Lag for me at all!! I have also been using this to record stuff from a VCR perfect!
     

Share This Page