Can I install 3.1 on a computer that I haven't synced to?

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by duelingdragons, Sep 9, 2009.

  1. duelingdragons macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    May 13, 2007
    Location:
    Orlando, FL
    #1
    I'm at work, but I sync my phone with my Mac at home.. can I install 3.1 from work without it erasing everything??
     
  2. mcdj macrumors 604

    mcdj

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2007
    Location:
    NYC
  3. Merlosso macrumors 6502

    Merlosso

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2008
    #3
    Let's be clear on this. With 3.0, you had to sync afterwards to get all your music and apps back. I'm at work too and won't be home until late tonight. I want to update but don't want to be without the apps and music.

    Are you saying that it will keep your apps, music and data after updating to 3.1?
     
  4. rorschach macrumors 68020

    rorschach

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2003
    #4
    NO, you can only sync with one iTunes Library at a time. It will wipe your phone because you need to sync in order to update.
     
  5. Merlosso macrumors 6502

    Merlosso

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2008
    #5
    We did not need to sync in order to update before. Just back up, then update, from any computer. I did this successfully with 2.1 and 2.2 but with 3.0, it updated but I had to go home and sync to get music, apps and data back on it.

    The question is, will the data still be there after the update to 3.1?
     
  6. mountainman macrumors member

    mountainman

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2007
    Location:
    North of Denver, Colorado
    #6
    Worked for me

    I installed the 3.1 update on a computer that I do not use for syncing. All my applications, movies, & music are still there.
     
  7. Merlosso macrumors 6502

    Merlosso

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2008
    #7
    Thank you mountainman! I'm off to update. :D
     
  8. mcdj macrumors 604

    mcdj

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2007
    Location:
    NYC
    #8
    I'm at work. I d/l'd the update, did not back up, did not sync, installed the update, voila, all music and data still there.
     
  9. Sonicjay macrumors 6502a

    Sonicjay

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2008
    #9
    x2 This works fine.
     
  10. Small White Car macrumors G4

    Small White Car

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2006
    Location:
    Washington DC
    #10
    I think the problem is that the BIG updates (2.0, 3.0) don't work like this which is what other folks are remembering.
     

Share This Page